Ratings based on 1,351 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good home base

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Clean and quiet. Staff was great and responsive to questions.
Cons: Um.....running out of food at the (spartan) breakfast on one morning is understandable but running out three days consecutive is a head scratcher
What we expected for what we paid. Clean and comfortable room without the frills. Easy access from I-95 and Route 4. Twenty minutes to Wells Beach and forty-five to Boston if it rains. Short drive or nice walk down into Portsmouth center. Affordable option if you aren't looking to spend a lot of time at the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Not the best, even for one night

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: I liked the gal that checked us in. She was very nice and informative.
Cons: The bathroom could have been without a dirty washcloth in it. The bathroom vent should be cleaned. Two of the staff members --attitude adjustment.
The gal that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. We stayed one night. In the bathroom, there was a dirty washcloth over the shower bar. In the morning, my husband and I were both congested. I noticed the bathroom vent was covered over with dust (allergens) and I took a photo of this on my cell phone. When we checked out, there was a man and a woman at the counter. I showed the man the cell phone photo of the vent and remarked on the dirty washcloth in the bathroom. He said, "Those are not good things." I said, "No, especially since this was our first stay at a Howard Johnson." I asked for a receipt to which he replied with one word, "Expedia." I said, "Well, goodbye," and neither person spoke to me. If their feelings were hurt over my negative comments because they were concerned over their hotel, they should have been friendly to make sure I didn't feel like I wasn't cared about. Their not bothering to even return my "goodbye" was just rude. I've been a customer service manager before at a multi-million dollar facility. I know what good customer service is and what isn't. This wasn't good customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Nice place to stay as always

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Nice mattress, greats pillows, nices sheets, really clean.
Cons: The curtains were not really blackout ones and they were too short, but according to the sign in the lobby this will be replaced soon.
Location: Location near I-95/US 1 and near everything you need in Portsmouth/Kittery area. Beaches from ME and NH are less than 20 minutes away.
We stayed there when it was America's Best Inn 4 years ago it was nice but needed some refreshing. Now it's done! We enjoyed our stay at the refreshed HoJo. The staff is nice, room clean, mattress comfortable. The room have a mini fridge and a microwave. Only downside were the curtains but it's something I know will be fixed soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We were just looking for a cheap, basic hotel to stay a few nights in the Portsmouth, NH area. Although a Howard Johnson is by no means a luxury hotel we were very impressed by the quality of what they offered. The staff were very nice and helpful. There was a basic, but nice breakfast. Think the the thing that we were the most impressed with was the cleanliness of our room and the hotel in general. The halls and rooms were freshly painted, and the carpets were very clean. The comforters on the beds also seemed brand new, and they were WHITE, so there was no room for the least little stain! I think this was the first time I stayed in a hotel that had almost TOO MANY pillows on the bed! Highly recommend this place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Mikaela, Hotel Management
Tom, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property, Howard Johnson Portsmouth. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. Our team worked really hard to renovated our hotel to meet the needs our of guests! We hope you will be back to visit soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean rooms, friendly staff

Posted Aug 17, 2017
My kids loved the bright fun colors in the room. It was updated and clean. A great option for a lower budget visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Get the old cigarette smell out of the rooms
Location: Good location near interstate
This hotel is undergoing remodeling, which caused some inconvenience. Our room smelled like old cigarette smoke, so it was obviously formerly a smoking room. The breakfast was scant. The location was good. Overall it was adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Hotel was very good and good location local sites.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Price and convenient to Portsmouth sites...
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Our trip was to visit family.
During our stay the hotel was being renovated, which made parking inconvenient. I believe the renovations are now completed & and things are now better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean hotel right off the highway easy on our gre

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Nice beds clean sheets water good breakfast Easy on and off from Highway a really good diner cross the street for burgers and eggs and eggs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel but no swimming pool

Posted Jul 5, 2017
My room tub and sink was Water was draining slow and pillow was like a rock Sprain my neck
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elgin South Carolina

Disapointing

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Good location. Good price.
Cons: See items above
Location: Good location. Plenty to see and do nearby.
Nobody knew which rooms were ready for customers. Workers were still painting in the room. Still installing door knobs. We never got the chair that was supposed to be in the room. Maid had trouble understanding English.