Ratings based on 1,402 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2018
The staff were friendly and helpful--and the room was clean and comfortable. I'll stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Guest Service Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our property. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your room with us. We hope that you will think of us next time your in the Portsmouth area!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

We where very happy with our stay

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Great location and place clean and staff very nice Would recommend to anyone
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by Guest Service Supervisor, Hotel Management
Norm, thank you for your kind words. Howard Johnson Portsmouth works very hard to make sure every guest has a great time during every visit. We can wait to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Stayed two nights at have no complaints at all. Clean hotel/room, friendly staff, quiet and relaxing. Next time I'm in Portsmouth I'll be staying at the HoJo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2017 by Guest Service Supervisor, Hotel Management
Will, Thank you for reviewing our property!! I am so glad that you enjoyed the room you were in! Our housekeeping team work really hard to make sure our rooms are ready for every guest that walks in! We can't wait to see you again during your next visit to the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Newly updated, beautiful rooms, bed comfortable. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2017 by Guest Service Supervisor, Hotel Management
Traveler, Thank you for reviewing our property. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our new rooms! We hope you will come stay with us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth New Hampshire

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Great place to stay...rooms clean...staff friendly and helpful....great price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Guest Service Supervisor, Hotel Management
Nicky, thank you for your kind words about our property, Howard Johnson Portsmouth. It's great to hear that our staff was able to assist you during your stay with us. They are trained to give the very best in customer service that is possible. We can't wait to see you during your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Jersey

Nice hotel right off 95N

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice comfortable room. Just wish it had a pool and hot tub. Great for overnight stay on way to Maine
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Guest Service Supervisor, Hotel Management
Rose, Thanks you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, our property size does not allow for the addition of a pool or hot tub.But our sister property does have a pool that guests have free access to during their stay.
4 out of 5
by Bradley

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017
Bradley, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again next time you are in the Portsmouth area.
4 out of 5
by Gabrielle

Check-In mix up

Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Hotels
I'm contacting about a mix up I had with my room during check-in. I was given room keys & neither of them worked so I went to the front desk to receive another pair of keys which also didn't work, I went back to the front desk where a different person was now working & she said the person who originally helped me check in put me in the wrong room which is why the keys didn't work. She said I would get $10 off my charge but I have NOT received.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Room needs comfy chair Tub should have a nonslip bottom Bathroom needs wall hooks
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Guest Service Supervisor, Hotel Management
Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. You will be happy to know that the activity chairs have been ordered and will arrive soon. I have passed you other suggestions onto our management team to review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: price, convenience to area we were visiting
Cons: better window coverings, it didn't have a sitting chair
Location: great location to downtown Portsmouth
overall a positive experience. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. Pillows were not that great though
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Guest Service Supervisor, Hotel Management
Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you found us centrally located to your area of interests. You will be happy to know that the activity chairs have been ordered and should be arriving soon.