Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nearby hotel for Ross University

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
Good Maintenance of bathroom with warm water and toilet will definitely help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Not a horrible experience but the bathroom could use an upgrade and there was an ant issue in the bathroom
5 out of 5
by Carol from Portsmouth, Dominica

Portsmouth

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Good location for views, snorkeling, access to grocery store.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Yorks

Lovely spacious room at Portsmouth Beach.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: As indicated above.
Cons: Quality of fish and chips. Batter tasted as though it had been pre-fried.
Location: Lovely position facing sea. Good for walking and plenty of cafes. We visited the dockyard, tank museums, HMS Warrior and had boat trip around port.
Lovely spacious room overlooking prom. Felt cold in night owing to the quilt being too small for its cover, leaving me with a quilt cover containing no filling on my side. Tried to cuddle up to my husband for warmth, but was uncomfortable sleeping on the join of the two singles put together to make a double. My husband located a warm blanket in the top of the wardrobe, which was OK. Housekeeper should be asked to change quilt for a larger one. Pleasant dining room and good breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Syed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location...the rooms need an upgrade

Posted May 6, 2015
Cons: Remodel rooms
The room was cheap and it showed! The bathroom sink was falling off the wall and leaked...fortunately the garbage pail was underneath the drain pipe to catch the water. The room was stark and I couldn't find a place to plug the TV in to use. The restaurant was the best part...we had breakfast there every day over looking the beach. We had drinks there in the evening as well. The place needs a renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from North Pole, Alaska

Fun place to stay in Portsmouth

Posted Jan 14, 2014
We were upgraded to the Picard Beach Resort which adjoins Portsmouth Beach Resort, great beach cabins!
5 out of 5
by Matt from Colorado Springs, CO, USA

Great Little Cottages

Posted Jun 24, 2009
We definitely enjoyed our stay at Picard Beach. The beach front cottages couldn't have had a more perfect view. The room was clean and comfortable. The front desk staff wasn't terribly helpful with trying to plan an excursion to the boiling lake, but were friendly enough.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel vétuste

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel vétuste, propre mais plus proche d'une vielle chambre de résidence étudiante que d'un hotel trois étoiles. Restaurant quant à lui correct.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from Helsinki

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
We had a standard double room that faced west with the inner yard and partly ocean, so it was nice to have breakfast at the balcony. The room came with a fridgeµvawe (but no cuttlery), which came handy because the restaurant prices were quite high compeared to the meal sizes, although it was tasty. The room was out-dated, with broken wardrobe, no shampoos. But wi-fi worked well. The beach was ok, although I'm not sure which part of it was supposed to be private. There were no sunbeds or umbrellas to use at the beach, only chairs that belonged to the restaurant (and you were not allowed to have your own beach snacks or drinks at the restaurant area, which included part of the beach and the jetty). Because the beach faced west you had to walk a bit further down the beach to get the sun in the morning. There was a water sport center there that rented SUP-boards, jet-skies, sails etc. There were sandflies in some parts of the beach, which was not nice, got bitten all over. There were other, cheaper restaurants close by and a supermarket that catered the international students at the uni, so the variety was larger than elsewhere in Dominica. The hotel was in walking distance to the Indian river and the "city", but buses were frequent too. The room price is a bit high for the standard and state of the room, but the location and surrounding made it understandable.