Ratings based on 764 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford

Nice place to stay with children

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Very nice hotel, children liked so much the swimming pool. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great visit

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Expedia
Cons: N/a
Location: Great for a ferry journey drop in to St Malo.
Great location and the rooms were great. Breakfast was fantastic. The bar was super as well and dinner. The best aspect of this hotel are the staff - from the reception to bar and breakfast staff were outstanding. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel very pleased

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Great hotel just outside of Portsmouth so you will need to get a Taxi or drive if you want to get to Gunwharf Quays. Great staff, very polite and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was superb. They have a pool too but did not visit it. Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastbourne

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
We had a lovely break, nice and relaxing with happy and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Nikki, Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review, we really appreciate your feedback. Kind regards Helen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Only stayed for one night but the hotel lived up to its star rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for a great review, I hope you will be able to stay with us again should your travels bring you to Portsmouth. Kind regards Helen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Restaurant let the hotel down, chilly and food not at expected levels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I have passed your comments to the Food and Beverage Director for review so we can work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Kind regards Helen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w susisex

Good experience

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Comfortable staff helpful and overall good. Enjoyed the pool and health club facilities . Convenient to parking good b fast and dinner . Reasonable rate
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Anoja, Thank you staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Helen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Ideal overnight stay before catching early ferry to Isle of Wight
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. Kind regards Helen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

Lovely staff

Posted Sep 4, 2017
My daughters 3rd birthday and she had a card and gifts from the hotel lively touch really appriciated. Breakfast beautiful everything you can think of to choose from would go there again. Thankyou xxxx
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

no alcohol and no warning

Posted Sep 2, 2017
On arriving at the hotel being given a terse letter stating that for licensing reasons they would not be serving alcohol was not the welcome we were expecting after a long drive. Why did the hotel not pre warn us with the option of allowing us to cancel. Clearly the problem was specifically related to the hotel as the neighbouring Premier In /Beefeater were more than happy to sell me a drink. Added to this there was an all pervading chlorine smell in the lobby of the hotel, restaurant and bar. Not a satisfactory experience , and not one I will repeat