Ratings based on 746 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Only stayed for one night but the hotel lived up to its star rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for a great review, I hope you will be able to stay with us again should your travels bring you to Portsmouth. Kind regards Helen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Restaurant let the hotel down, chilly and food not at expected levels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I have passed your comments to the Food and Beverage Director for review so we can work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Kind regards Helen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w susisex

Good experience

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Comfortable staff helpful and overall good. Enjoyed the pool and health club facilities . Convenient to parking good b fast and dinner . Reasonable rate
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Anoja, Thank you staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Helen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Ideal overnight stay before catching early ferry to Isle of Wight
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Helen, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback. Kind regards Helen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portsmouth

Lovely staff

Posted Sep 4, 2017
My daughters 3rd birthday and she had a card and gifts from the hotel lively touch really appriciated. Breakfast beautiful everything you can think of to choose from would go there again. Thankyou xxxx
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

no alcohol and no warning

Posted Sep 2, 2017
On arriving at the hotel being given a terse letter stating that for licensing reasons they would not be serving alcohol was not the welcome we were expecting after a long drive. Why did the hotel not pre warn us with the option of allowing us to cancel. Clearly the problem was specifically related to the hotel as the neighbouring Premier In /Beefeater were more than happy to sell me a drink. Added to this there was an all pervading chlorine smell in the lobby of the hotel, restaurant and bar. Not a satisfactory experience , and not one I will repeat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Family trip

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Needed a hotel for a night to be close to ferry port to collect daughter. The hotel was easy to find and in a good location. Check in was quick and simple. The room was nice with 2 large comfy kings. Bathroom was adequate. The only upgrade would be a better tv and wifi inclusive in the price of a room. Breakfast was good but I didn't get offered a hot drink. We used the pool which was fine although the changing rooms had other people's towels all over the floor and clearly weren't kempt by the staff. I would stay here again. Great location for the docks, shops and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great staffl but facilities looking a little tired

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, great service
Cons: Refurbish the bedrooms as they look tired for a 4 star hotel. Leisure club facilities looking tired too and Jacuzzi not fully working
Location: Great for the business park and just off the motorway. However, too far out of town for a sightseeing weekend in Portsmouth (c£15 in a taxi into town)
Nice hotel but facilities looking a little tired (e.g. bedrooms, leisure centre equipment). Very friendly, helpful staff, great service. Great location for business/if you want to be near the business park but way too far out of town for a weekend sightseeing visit to Portsmouth (c£15 in a taxi each way).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Convenient location, room cleanliness is not the best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

OK hotel for big price tag

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Overall it's ok but doesn't meet my expectations. The room (£180 one night ) was very simple and out of date. I was almost confused I checked into budget hotel. Staff, especially morning buffet staff are pleasant. I don't think I would like to go back there. Sorry.