Ratings based on 736 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017
The hotel was ideally located. It was comfortable, warm and inviting. The hotel offered great food as well as wonder workout equipment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Cons: Air conditioning was loud. The bathroom could use a better fan. Lighting in the room was insufficient.
The Hotel was nice. We were only there one night. Wish we could have stayed another day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, VA

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: It is quiet and clean.
Cons: The buffet breakfast should come with the rooom.
Location: It is in Olde Town Portsmouth and you can walk to restaurants and a movie. You can also take the ferry to Norfolk Waterside.
I stay here once a year. I like it. It is within walking distance of many good restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brandywine, MD

Beautiful view

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Customer service top-rated. Beautiful view. Many interesting places within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake, VA

High School Reunion Weekend

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The location on the water, the interior was beautiful and the room was a nice size
Location: The location was great - you could ride the ferry right outside of the hotel and go over to Norfolk and visit waterside and other areas of Norfolk.
The hotel was perfect - the staff when checking in were very friendly - our room was wonderful with a beautiful view overlooking the Elizabeth River. The room was large and very comfortable. There were 3 High School Reunions and a wedding going on at the same time. They had plenty of staff to handle all of this and you would never know all of this was going on at the same time. The food was excellent and the service was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Convenient to downtown area and attractions

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Location, price and overall suitability to a high-end client.
Cons: The valet service was a bit slow and disorganized. I think it was an isolated incident and I won't let it deter me using it again.
Location: Only went to Roger Brown's Sports Bar. Was only there for a function held at the establishment.
Needed a one-nighter hotel to attend a function Downtown Portsmouth. The hotel exceeded my expectations - very high-scale from appearance and performance. Staff very professional from the doorman to housekeeping. I will always stay at Renaissance when I visit Portsmouth VA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great hotel. Close to ferry, beach, restaurants

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Not very much
Location: Took ferry to restaurants and shops. Also a half hour drive to beach. Had really pleasant stay
The hotel staff were amazing. Very friendly and accommodating. Thanks to Kevin for seeing that we had such a great room with a beautiful view and for all the other help he gave us. Breakfast staff were also great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, Mo

Great location with a view

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Staff was extremely courteous, prompt, and knowledgeable. The hotel location has an amazing view of the river, with easy ferry access. Close to restaurants; within walking distance. Food in hotel restaurant was great, too. Had a great experience & would definitely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location and access to the water front.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location, style and room size.
Cons: maybe a snack bar with appetizer type menu.
Location: excellent location, great access to Waterside and the entire area harbor
perfect location with access to Waterside and the marinas. great views of the Norfolk harbor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, Virginia

Very convenient location, albeit a tad overpriced.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
I stayed here for just a weekend night to take advantage of Norfolk's midnigh Spirit cruise and Virginia Beach's oceanfront the following day. This hotel is VERY convenient. High street restaurants, sports bars, shops and Elizabeth River ferry access (to Norfolk) are all within walking distance. The hotel was nice, but could use some cosmetic upgrading. Paints and ornamentation are fading in a lot of spots, floor tiles in the bathrooms look straight out of 1985, and the building itself smells dated. Parking, btw, is $10 a night. Overall, I would still recommend this hotel. It's upscale, with friendly, accommodating staff, and an excellent location. Pick a room with a view of Norfolk's skyline! It's beautiful.