Ratings based on 538 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Rhonda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Donna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Tess

Excellent Hotel in Lovely Portsmouth

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very friendly. Complimentary breakfast was great and including, eggs, bacon, etc. Our room was very accommodating with a fridge, stove, microwave, toaster, dishwasher, and dishes. Right on the edge of the wonderful shops and restaurants of Portsmouth, so it feels in the heart of everything while still being a bit quieter. Highly recommend visiting Portsmouth and staying at this hotel!
1 out of 5
by Stacey

Outrageous pet fees, etc.

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
I found it really hard to find any information regarding a pet fee. Typically a "pet friendly" hotel means that they have set aside pet rooms for a fee maybe 25-65 dollars. Not here, $100! That is just absurd, total game changer, wouldn't have stayed. She told me if I didnt want the fee I could "bring my dog home" ummm I drove a significant distance to get there I'm not going back and forth! The room had no views whatsoever and I booked a suite. The wifi wouldnt' work at first. The front desk told me valet was the cheapest, big mistake there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Stacey, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Portsmouth. We are sorry you were surprised by our parking and pet fees. To keep our guests from experiencing unexpected fees, our brand website, as well as hotels.com, is transparent with our pricing and lists the $100 pet fee and $25 daily parking fee. We do hope the rest of your stay in our convenient downtown location was enjoyable. -Jonathan Newton, General Manager
2 out of 5
by Paul

Parking

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
I was not told about the parking charge and I'm not pleased with that. It's not about the money it's not being told I find sneaky
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Paul, Thank you for choosing us to host your recent stay in downtown Portsmouth. To prevent our guests from experiencing unexpected fees, we are transparent with our daily $25 parking fee on our brand website as well as on hotels.com. We are always upfront with our guests and never try to sneaky hidden fees in. We do hope you enjoyed your stay and that you will consider staying with us in the future. -Jonathan Newton, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2017 on Hotels
On the edge of downtown, a short walk to all the shops, restaurants, etc. RI rooms all have kitchen areas w/ full-size fridge, small dishwashers, 2-burner stoves, pots/dishes/glasses/cups/silverware, etc. Some rooms have a separate bedroom. Comfortable beds. Wifi is usually dependable, without having to constantly log back in. Free breakfast is average, the stand-out being fresh-cut fruit. Usually free limited buffet dinner as well. Coffee/tea always on offer. Nice staff, especially the parking valets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Pleasant

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Hotel was nice, great spot for downtown, easy to walk around.
Cons: Less noisey heaters!
Location: Perfect location, walking around was easy.
The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was nice but a little too firm. The heater in the room was very noisy.
5 out of 5
by Alex

Great

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Great room, full sized fridge with ice maker. Very roomy two room suite
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Easy walk to shops

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Close to stores, clean, quiet, appeared new, staff was very helpful. Free newspaper at the door. Nice parking for those who choose not to do valet.
Cons: Breakfast needs to stay hotter for the late crowd.
Location: Friendly toast for great sandwiches. Lots of bookstores. Popover coffee shop. So much history here; Fort Constitution and Strawberry Banke.
I visited for an overnight stay, and was happy with its close vicinity to shopping, Portsmouth history, bookstores and restaurants. It was also close to the highway for easy access to Kittery outlets. The room was well stocked with kitchen supplies, so if you are on a tight budget you could bring food from home, and store it in their large refrigerator, cook on the stove, and use their kitchenware. The only thing I was disappointed with was the bathroom. Though it was very spacious, the shower had only a permanent half glass panel for its door so there was no privacy, no sliding door. And it lacked the extra sink are outside the bathroom for quick things like blow drying one's hair or toothbrushing. Good closet space and the bed was extremely comfortable. The TV swiveled to the bed and Living Room area so it was easy to see the TV from all angles. I was disappointed with the cold eggs at breakfast, but I did arrive 20 minutes before it closed down. There were many other breakfast options to choose from, however, so the convenience of it was much appreciated.