Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New England

Worst experience of my traveling career

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing
I arrived on time with a pre-paid Expedia reservation and was told by staff that they were overbooked and they did not have a room for me. They offered to pay me back for the prepaid room (which NEVER happened - I'm still disputing the charge) and to put me up in another hotel a few miles away at their expense. They gave me a voucher for this other place which was a very basic motel room - not anything near the 1-bdrm king-sized bed suite that I reserved at Residence Inn. Anyhow, the clerk at the other place accepted the voucher and took my credit card info for "incidentals". You guessed it: A month later, I saw a bill for a night's stay at the other place, too!! So now I've paid top dollar for two hotel rooms for one night - one room that was not available to me and one room that I was forced to sleep in because I had nowhere else to go. Never. Again. Beware everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Downtown Portsmouth

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Having a list of eateries in the area to include delivery.
Location: Lots of shops downtown and 15 to 20 minutes from Kittery Trading Post!
Friendly, helpful staff, close to downtown shops and minutes away from Kittery Trading Post! Room was very clean and comfortable. I would surely stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff with attitude, room needed maintainance.

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Room needed some maintainance. Water stains on ceiling. Our room was adjacent to the laundry and we were woken up at 2am by some drying shoes. Upon calling front desk, the lady was nasty to us and said there was nothing they could do about it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
horrible stay. booked over 3 weeks in advance for a 2 bedroom, 2 king beds. checked in after 5pm and i received a 1 bedroom, 1 queen bed. had 3 adults. horrible service. will never go there again. didn't offer me another room, they overbooked and there was nothing they could do.......yeah, you offered my room to someone else. thanks for nothing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wonderful stay

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Excellent. Spacious room, clean, friendly staff. Breakfast had plenty of options! Looking forward to coming back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vacation

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed at this hotel for weeks at a time as a kid with my grandparents and was excited to take my boyfriend and some close friends to this hotel. It was a blast when i was a kid and not much has changed. Very clean and well decorated, and everyone is very friendly. We were disappointed the hot tub was gone but regardless will definitely be back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Very Nice 2 bed room suite! Perfect for my ladies weekend.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Close to downtown Portsmouth and easy access
Cons: House cleaning should have reported the room we were put in the 1st night had a bad lingering odor so no one is put in that room until clean.
Location: Location great and easy to get to downtown Portsmouth
1st night we were put in a room with unbearable odor. Finally moved to cleaner room next day but there was no offer for discount for first night in the unpleasant smelly room.
4 out of 5
by Chris from Cary

Give this hotel a try, very nice!

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
A family stay of 3 nights. Excellent housekeeping service. Front desk very professional. The breakfast is very good. Wen enjoyed the basketball court and the greenspace around the hotel. The lobby has been newly redone, very nice. The only downside is the a/c units are very loud.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Close enough to downtown portsmouth

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Newly renovated lobby, nice hot breakfast buffet Reliable shuttle to town
Newly renovated lobby, nice hot breakfast buffet. Excellent shuttle service. Thanks Bailey! Rooms need serious updating and more staffing needed. Had to go get my own sheets , shampoo, etc. Only one person on staff in early evening hours.