Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deerfield Beach FL

Nice hotel close to everything.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: The hotel is very well maintained. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. Everything seemed to be updated. A nice large TV in the room was great.
Cons: Unfortunately, the hotel doesn't own enough real estate to provide free parking. You must either self park across the street or valet, both have fees.
Location: The hotel is right in the downtown Portsmouth district. You can walk everywhere.
My overall experience was pleasant. From the moment I was greeted by the valet/porter to the time I checked out, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only gripes I have is with the parking, for which you have to pay. And the fact that the grand ball room was directly beneath my room. There was a wedding reception that went on all evening. The DJ's poor judgement in volume interfered with my enjoyment. The noise ended promptly at 11:00 PM. However the signs in the hallways request that silence be observed after 10:00 PM. I like the location because you can walk everywhere in Downtown Portsmouth. I will even walk across the bridge to have breakfast in Kittery. The hotel's dining rooms are pricey, so I ate away from the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moultonboro, NH

Conveniently Located in Downtown Portsmouth

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Very nice hotel, beautifully decorated for Christmas. Staff was very friendly. Room attractively decorated, but heating/cooling system difficult to regulate. Sleep interrupted by vehicles outside dealing with snowstorm. Breakfast buffet overpriced for cold French toast. Would possibly give it another try in different circumstances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Stroll around Porstmouth/Shop till ya Drop Kittery

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Love the Sheraton which allows for walking around Portsmouth which is especially beautiful at Christmas time. The hot cocoa in the lobby is a nice touch. The glass top on the main dresser was dusty in the room but everything else was top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Nice hotel I ve stayed there several times and have never been disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, yet older hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Great location, within walking distance to many local shops and restaurants. Food week was an added bonus. Staff was very helpful when expedia's confirmation didn't go through to the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Disappointed stay

Posted Oct 23, 2016
This was our third stay here. Upon arrival we chose valet parking service was good. We were checked in quickly and given a room on the fourth floor. You had to use your key to access this floor. Not sure of the benefit to this now that we experienced the stay. We were ready to settle in for the evening at 11:45pm. We could hear people entering and exiting the floor. Yelling, doors slamming, someone arguing and crying. This went on throughout the night. We were leaving the next morning and at checkout we let guest services know it was very noisy all night. He brushed it off and went on to ask if we wanted a receipt of charges. I was too exhausted to even discuss our disappointment further. We will try another hotel for our next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Ants in my pants!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: So many wonderful shops and restaurants nearby! Go exploring! The nice thing about the hotel is the location.
This hotel was far too expensive for what you get. For example, the group of ants hangin' out in the bathroom - shouldn't have been there for what I paid for an overnight in this hotel. Wasn't the cleanest room and the beds weren't comfortable. If you order room service, make sure you know that gratuity is already added on - along with a bunch of other charges. Not worth the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not great

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: The restaurant was nice
Cons: The room could have been nicer
Location: Great location
Thought the room was small and uncomfortable. The bed was really bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Labor Day Weekend

Posted Sep 6, 2016
We stayed in the main part of the hotel. Room was comfortable. Hotel staff was helpful. Small restaurant food was good. Location was great to all the shops in Portsmouth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will never stay here again

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Entrance not marked, bathroom is the size of a SMALL closet, TV too far from bed and TRAINS blowing horns at 11pm and midnight...would NOT recommend...in the hotel's defense, they gave us 5000 points when I complained...not a happy camper...