Ratings based on 807 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hensonville, NY

Paper Thin Walls

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: It's in a convenient location.
Cons: Well, you'd have to start with some more sheet-rock.
Location: It's right smack downtown and you can walk to lots of bars and mediocre restaurants.
We could hear very very clearly every time a neighbor flushed the toilet, sneezed, coughed, anything really. You pay for a Sheraton but get the Super 8. Tiny cramped room, sandpaper towels. A very poor showing for Sheraton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Maria Allegrini, Hotel Management
We pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels. We have unfortunately fallen short of that goal. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team members to ensure this opportunities are corrected. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the location of the hotel, near the downtown restaurants and shops. We hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Portsmouth.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Parking and drinks at the bar way too expensive. Water view blocked by industrial site.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Maria Allegrini - Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience in Portsmouth. While we are fortunate to have a beautiful view of the Piscataqua River, occasionally there are large vessels and vehicles accessing the working port. We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Nice place to stay to experience portsmouth

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Great staff, overall nice hotel, room immaculately clean- must've had a great housekeeper! Even liked the decor ( outlets everywhere was fantastic feature). BUT the carpet was stained and a big turn off . Are you telling me not one housekeeping staff member would think to mention that the rug needed a cleaning ??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deerfield Beach FL

Nice hotel close to everything.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: The hotel is very well maintained. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. Everything seemed to be updated. A nice large TV in the room was great.
Cons: Unfortunately, the hotel doesn't own enough real estate to provide free parking. You must either self park across the street or valet, both have fees.
Location: The hotel is right in the downtown Portsmouth district. You can walk everywhere.
My overall experience was pleasant. From the moment I was greeted by the valet/porter to the time I checked out, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only gripes I have is with the parking, for which you have to pay. And the fact that the grand ball room was directly beneath my room. There was a wedding reception that went on all evening. The DJ's poor judgement in volume interfered with my enjoyment. The noise ended promptly at 11:00 PM. However the signs in the hallways request that silence be observed after 10:00 PM. I like the location because you can walk everywhere in Downtown Portsmouth. I will even walk across the bridge to have breakfast in Kittery. The hotel's dining rooms are pricey, so I ate away from the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moultonboro, NH

Conveniently Located in Downtown Portsmouth

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Very nice hotel, beautifully decorated for Christmas. Staff was very friendly. Room attractively decorated, but heating/cooling system difficult to regulate. Sleep interrupted by vehicles outside dealing with snowstorm. Breakfast buffet overpriced for cold French toast. Would possibly give it another try in different circumstances.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Stroll around Porstmouth/Shop till ya Drop Kittery

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Love the Sheraton which allows for walking around Portsmouth which is especially beautiful at Christmas time. The hot cocoa in the lobby is a nice touch. The glass top on the main dresser was dusty in the room but everything else was top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Nice hotel I ve stayed there several times and have never been disappointed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Came up here for 2 nights for our annual Christmas shopping at the outlets. Hotel is convenient to the center of town, where there are some great shops and restaurants. It is about a 10 minute car ride to the Kittery, Maine outlets, where there are lots of great outlets stores. Hotel is clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Room is spacious with a large bathroom. Valet parking quick and easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, yet older hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Great location, within walking distance to many local shops and restaurants. Food week was an added bonus. Staff was very helpful when expedia's confirmation didn't go through to the hotel.