Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Cons: Hot water system in the bathroom could be improved.
Nice place to stay. The rooms are very clean, the staffs are very friendly willing to help.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Stay

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
Nice place to stay, friendly staff and owners. Great views and great food. A bit dated however. Would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Lise, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time off to write us a review. We are always happy to receive reviews. Its good to know that you liked our place and that you would recommend people to stay with us. We are in the process of upgrading and also adding new facilities. We hope that you will come to visit again to enjoy our new and upgraded facilities. Thank you again for your review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016 by Lise, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time off to write us a review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed, your ambiance, service and time spent with us. We hope that you will come again in the future for lodging at Hotel The Champs. We always intend to make you feel like family when you stay with us. Have a prosperous and happy new year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Hotel Overlooking Picard/Portsmouth

Posted Jul 15, 2015
While in the middle of our honeymoon to Dominica, we decided to change the location of our final four nights from a very remote location, to somewhere near Portsmouth. The Classique was the highest rated hotel we could find, and it definitely did not disappoint. Though small, the Classique feels like it offers all of the amenities offered by larger hotel chains, including a shuttle service to transport guests up the large hill from the main road. Conveniently located close to both Picard and Portsmouth, as well as hosting many themed night parties, the Classique is a must-stay if travelling to Portsmouth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by Lise, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time off to write this review. We are The Champs Hotel and we are very happy to know that we were able to make your honey moon such a special moment. We do our best to ensure that every guest leaves feeling contented. We hope that you will come again to enjoy some time again at our Hotel. Kind Regards, Lise
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Amazing staff, great location

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: The staff go out of their way to ensure you have the best time on the island. The food is nice, the view is amazing and there is plenty to do nearby.
Location: The staff will help you get to Portsmouth and then a bus to Roseau is about USD 4. Snorkelling, hiking, Indian River, day-trip to Boiling Lake.
We stayed here to watch the cricket since we couldn't get accommodation in Roseau and in hindsight, I'm glad we couldn't. The staff (Lise, Hans and co.) are by far the most helpful staff you'll ever encounter anywhere. It's like Lise and Hans would rather be doing nothing else with their life than helping you have an amazing time on the island. They dropped out to the bus station and taught us how to catch a bus in the Caribbean (there's no regulated public transport but it's very easy and safe once someone teaches you how to do it). When the airline lost my luggage, I literally did nothing - Lise and Hans took care of it and it was back within 2 days with zero effort required on our behalf. There is good snorkelling nearby and The Champs provided us with gear and directions. They also dropped us off at hiking spots and the Indian River is nearby too. They organised our day-trip to Boiling Lake and our transfers to and from the airport. The restaurant is nice and the surrounding suburbs are very safe and authentic. Everything is fairly priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Lise, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive comments of our Staff, Food, Location Ambiance and Service. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! I’m very pleased to know that all our efforts and services made your vacation a well spent one. Thank you for the compliments of Hosts Lise and Hans, they really enjoy helping out. We were all very happy to know that you could go island hoping, diving and hiking while still enjoying the cricket game. I’m sure that our entire Hotel staff enjoyed taking care of your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again. Kind Regards, Lise
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Wondeful experience

Posted May 17, 2015
My first time on a Caribbean island. The staff was solicitous of my needs, and didn't wait to be asked. They were happy to answer questions about Dominica and the flora and fauna. The shuttle service was SO available and handy for a 66 yo. to navigate the hills. Delicious food, ample drinks. AND WHAT A VIEW.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2015 by Lise, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time off to write a review on The Champs Hotel. We are happy to know that you appreciated our Shuttle service up and down the hill. It is very good to know that our staff treated you with so much care and concern. We are always delighted in making our guests very comfortable during their stay. Thank you for the compliments of our view. We hope to have you stay at our place again in the near future. Kind Regards, LIse
5 out of 5
by Jacqueline from Telford UK

An incredibly lucky choice of hotel

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
An lucky find - booked purely because I was born in its UK namesake Portsmouth, but turned out to be an absolute gem. The hosts were incredibly friendly and attentive, the atmosphere was lively but peaceful when it mattered, and the food (even the lentil burgers!) were absolutely delicious. Thank you so much for an amazing stay on your amazingly beautiful island of Dominica
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2015 by Lise, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing the travel experience that you had at Hotel The Champs. The fact that you mentioned our Service, Food and Ambiance being such of an excellent quality means a lot to us. We love the fact that you enjoyed our Hotel and food 100% without any complaints . This type of enjoyment is exactly what we want for you and all of our visitors. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards, Lise
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

View is the best thing

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The view of the Caribbean. Security provided by nearby University fortuitously.
Cons: Position the bed in a better way
Location: NIce beach in Portsmouth
Very good service from hotel staff but a mediocre hotel. Absolutely wonderful view. Staff was very helpful with touring information. Good for the budget traveller. Nice breakfast provided. Everywhere in Dominica is a picture postcard
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2015 by Lise, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time off to write us a review. Your feedback is very valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your opinion about our hotel and it’s a pleasure to announce that we will be upgrading and extending the property within the next couple of months. In taking great care of our charming hotel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere to all our guests. We do hope that you will come again. It will be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our new (upgraded) boutique hotel. Kind Regards, Lise
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Schwerte

Hotel mit schöner Aussicht in Picard

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Die Lage wegen der schönen Aussicht,die Bar/Restaurant
Cons: die Strasse zum Hotel sollte erneuert werden, ist zum Teil katastrophal
Location: Etwas ausserhalb Portsmouth in Picard. Ausflüge unbedingt zum Indian River, Cabrits National Park,Toucari Bay
Das Hotel liegt in erhöhter Lage.Zufahrt zum Teil über Schlaglöcher und Schotter.Die Zimmer sind in Ordnung und das Personal sehr freundlich.Man bekommt ein Hotel Handy für den Notfall.Vom Restaurant /Bar hat man eine wunderschöne Aussicht auf den Cabrits National Park.Wir hatten viel Spaß beim abendlichen Entertainment in der Bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2015 by Lise, Hotel Management
Dank u voor uw beoordeling. We zijn blij om te weten dat je je terecht in onze plaats. Dank u voor de complimenten van ons hotel. We hopen dat je weer naar onze plaats zullen komen. Lise
4 out of 5
by Niclas from Stockholm

En jul med utsikt

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels
Vi firade jul på hotellet. Mycket trevligt. Fantastisk frukost och personal. Bra utsikt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2016 by Lise, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Tack för att skriva en stor översyn. Vi är glada att du älskade Hotel The Champs. Vi hoppas att du kommer tillbaka igen.