Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Great location and atmosphere. We will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Very quaint with a charming appeal.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Location and the outstanding comfort of the bedding. Wow!!
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Running in the neighborhood was fantastic. It's a five minute walk to some of the best restaurants in the country (in my opinion) and some neat shops.
Walkable to all of the incredible restaurants in Portsmouth. I'm a foodie and this was a great find due to location and the amenities. I love the light tapas style breakfast with fresh juice. There was also a water jug filled with lemons and rosemary which was SO refreshing after a long work day. The room was spacious and the bed was the most comfortable of my lifetime. WoW!!!! You'll sleep like a champ!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, great staff, nice facilities.

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Very nice, friendly staff. Historic building with charm. Nice breakfast with locally sourced options. Unbeatable location.
Location: The hotel is within a few blocks of the heart of all the activities in Portsmouth NH, but it is just far enough away that you do not get disturbed.
I booked this at the last minute and was very happy with the hotel. My only two criticisms are (1) the bed was way too soft, and (2) the walls way too thin. I travel a lot so have gotten used to different bed types; however, this was way too soft and worn the center sagging. All hotels suffer from thin walls, but this seemed worse than average.
5 out of 5
by Kendra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Dawn

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great Inn! Excellent coffee! Only complaint would be we could hear the upstairs people often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JD Cape Cod

Wonderful hotel and great location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
What a lovely hotel! Perfect location for anyone who enjoys a short walk into town. Lovely breakfast, yummy coffee! Comfy bed! I Would definitely recommend The Hotel Portsmouth!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect walking distance to everything!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Location: Perfect walking distance to everything downtown. We parked our car when we arrived and never moved it until we left!
We loved this hotel - it was comfortable, cute and quaint. The staff were helpful and friendly from the start. The rooms were exceptional, especially the use of the iPads and having robes in all the rooms. Common areas were very welcoming. Breakfast was perfect, fresh and yummy!
5 out of 5
by Gregory

Overnight at Hotel Portsmouth

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
We love the region in general, and this is the perfect place to complement our visit. Great staff, and the breakfast is something else!! We plan on staying here again in a couple of months!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels