Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Just a very gracious place!!
Cons: Would have been nice to have had access to a glass of wine or beer... maybe just set up as honor system...
Location: Very accessible to the wonderful livable city!!
Wonderful jewel of a place. Would recommend this place to other business travelers and others with family events in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Adorable hotel in heart of Portsmouth

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: How unique it is! So many fun rooms and decor. Even the hotel room key was adorable!
Location: Great location! It was a quick walk to our favorite place Flatbread Pizza and then we walked to The Music Hall for a show. Can't beat the location!
Hard to fully describe how lovely and cute this place is! Has such a warm feel to it. Hotel staff was lovely. Provided free snacks. Clean rooms and nice bathroom. We were able to walk to all the restaurants and sites we wanted to see which was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel in terrific location.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Friendly staff and very cute boutique hotel wel-situated in Portsmouth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Strasburg, PA

Restful

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: all of the above
Location: Shopping, eating, watching boats on the water, walk the bridge to Maine.
Close enough to downtown but far enough away to be relaxing. Staff gave dinner recommendations. We walked everywhere.... even to Maine ! Hotel was updated historical. Well laid out. Inviting study and parlor. Loved the breakfast nook, felt like you were at someone's sunroom porch / house. Light "european" breakfast. Tasty. Really liked this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Great location and atmosphere. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
This INN was great, close to everything and everyone was terrific
5 out of 5
by Joseph

THE CHARMING HOTEL PORTSMOUTH

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel Portsmouth is very charming and provides excellent service to its guests. It also offers an interesting and varied breakfast menu. It is located two blocks away from Congress Street and Market Street Square, which is filled with beautiful stores, cafés and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Very quaint with a charming appeal.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Location and the outstanding comfort of the bedding. Wow!!
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Running in the neighborhood was fantastic. It's a five minute walk to some of the best restaurants in the country (in my opinion) and some neat shops.
Walkable to all of the incredible restaurants in Portsmouth. I'm a foodie and this was a great find due to location and the amenities. I love the light tapas style breakfast with fresh juice. There was also a water jug filled with lemons and rosemary which was SO refreshing after a long work day. The room was spacious and the bed was the most comfortable of my lifetime. WoW!!!! You'll sleep like a champ!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, great staff, nice facilities.

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Very nice, friendly staff. Historic building with charm. Nice breakfast with locally sourced options. Unbeatable location.
Location: The hotel is within a few blocks of the heart of all the activities in Portsmouth NH, but it is just far enough away that you do not get disturbed.
I booked this at the last minute and was very happy with the hotel. My only two criticisms are (1) the bed was way too soft, and (2) the walls way too thin. I travel a lot so have gotten used to different bed types; however, this was way too soft and worn the center sagging. All hotels suffer from thin walls, but this seemed worse than average.