Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

It made me feel important yet at home.

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Pros: I felt like I went back in time. You know back to the fifties when everyone was friendly & cared about each other.
Cons: Nothing. Keep it just like it is!
I loved the atmosphere! The staff were so friendly & polite. I have not stopped talking about what a great trip & hotel stay that I had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2018 by Port Inn, Hotel Management
Deanie this is such a lovely review! We will share it with our entire staff. We are so happy to hear that we made you feel welcomed and cared about, we truly love making each and every guest happy. We hope that the next time you are in Portsmouth that you will stay with us here at the Port Inn Portsmouth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Forest Lake, MN

Easy access to Portsmouth Attractions

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Having been stationed at Pease AFB 40 years ago, it was most enjoyable reminiscing and disusing the changes around Portsmouth. Staff very helpful and ready to assist anyway they can.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2018 by Port Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your service Ron. We are so happy that we got to host you for your big return to Portsmouth. We hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unexpected Surprise

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Pros: 5 star linens, towels, shampoo, coffee maker etc...
Cons: the candy bar I bought from the vending machine was stale.
I wasn't expecting much from the image of this hotel on the web, however, I was pleasantly surprised at how well appointed and clean this hotel was. Check in staff were friendly and quick. My room was very clean, linens were quality, towels were fluffy, and the room was very well appointed with chargers, a water glass, suitcase stand, quality shampoo and conditioner, microwave, small fridge, coffee maker with Starbucks coffee and Tazo tea with a real mug, not just a paper cup. Breakfast included a variety of selections with brown hard boiled eggs, Chobani yogurts, and homemade waffles. Really enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2018 by Katherine, Hotel Management
Dear Amy, Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Port Inn! I am so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations, and that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings and in-room amenities. I am sorry to hear that your candy bar was stale - I will make sure we fix this problem so it doesn't happen in the future. We put careful thought and consideration into all aspects our guest experience, and strive to ensure our guests feel how truly valued they are. There's nothing than makes us feel more fulfilled than hearing that our guests enjoyed their experience, and I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the staff. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the Portsmouth area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff

Posted Apr 10, 2018
ALL the staff members at the Port Innn were beyond amazing- from check in to check out. The rooms were clean as well!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2018 by Port Inn Team, Hotel Management
Thank you so much! We hope we get to see you again the next time you are in Portsmouth!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2018
Everyone was great would stay again breakfast was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by Port Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you such a kind review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Posted Apr 6, 2018
It’s a great hotel with a truly caring and attentive staff. I love that small pets are allowed for a reasonable fee. The breakfast and coffee options are so delicious! The price is very fair for a clean, comfortable room!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2018 by Port Inn Team, Hotel Management
Wow this is such a nice review! We are so happy that you liked the Port Inn Portsmouth so much! We are dog friendly and we actually accept dogs of any size! When they check in we even provide a Port Inn Portsmouth dish filled with treats!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mother/Daughter shopping trip

Posted Mar 26, 2018
We chose this Inn because of the other reviews it got, the location and the price. We were not disappointed! Very quaint office area with hot beverages available even later at night and some treats too, lovely breakfast included the next morning - just right to get the shopping day started! Beds were very comfortable. We would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by Port Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for such a kind review! We hope that we are now your preferred location for shopping trips! We do have a Retail Therapy package that you should check out, it comes with discounts to local stores and some little treats! We hope to see you again here at the Port Inn Portsmouth!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprise Find

Posted Mar 17, 2018
Surrounded by chain hotels the Port is a great, smaller but just as comfortable option. The low price doesn't mean cheap. Good size, clean rooms. Located on Route 1 but quiet. Breakfast has options but is a small area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2018 by Port Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate the kind words!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel with welcoming staff

Posted Mar 1, 2018
We had a very nice stay. The staff was always smiling and helpful. The room and bathroom were prettier than most hotels for the same price. The mattress could have been more comfortable but that would not stop us from staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2018 by Port Inn, Hotel Management
Hi Marie, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a kind review. We are very happy that you had a nice stay and that you will be seeing us again one of these days! I believe we are looking into doing some small renovation porjects, including mattresses, that will be ready for this upcoming busy summer season, you will have to visit again and tell us what you think!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nova scotia

Pleasant hotel close to downtown

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Cleanliness, amenities and staff
This hotel was very clean and the staff (Alexa) at the front desk very helpful and welcoming. Lots of attention to detail with coffee, tea, hot chocolate and snacks in the lobby. It was a very warm and cozy place to stop on a cold night after a long day on the road. Great recommendation for a nearby pub for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Port Inn Portsmouth , Hotel Management
Theresa, thank you so much for your kind words! The hot chocolate bar in the lobby is a new idea we have been trying out! It is so nice to hear that you liked it!