Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merrimac, United States of America

Night before.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: I booked last minute and it was close to UNH the site where President Obama was appearing the following day. The inn was very charming and with a comfortable old fashioned atmosphere. They were very flexible about a late arrival and the woman on the desk was very welcoming. The room was cozy though the bathroom was a bit chilly. Breakfast was delicious and the menu offered many choices. Wait staff was friendly and efficient.
Cons: Stairs were a bit of a challenge, as I I have a sore knee, but manageable. For one night it wasn't an issue.
Location: As mentioned, close to University venue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Why go hotel chain? Unique and wonderful hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Pleasantly different. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location. In town yet with a "get away" feeling to this little jewel on a hill.
Cons: Some renovations going on that made things feel a little less than perfect.
Location: Right off the center of Durham and walking distance to UNH. Nice area.
Rooms are individualized in theme and configuration. Eclectic furnishings yet with great condition and very comfortable. Bathroom was nice and had updates where you would want them (new floors, shower, etc.). Well stocked room for little things you'd forget. Keurig was a nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Quaint B&B

Posted May 4, 2016
Quaint and historic bed and breakfast. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Dinner and breakfast were average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great history, cool features, excellent dining

Posted Feb 8, 2016
great history, cool features, excellent dining, we liked the fact the inn is on the site of one of the worst Indian massacres in NH, way back in 1694 and loved its relationship with the Oyster River, an old cemetery, a beautiful garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great room, great price, great service

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: history, atmosphere, price
Location: We were just passing through and did not do anything hear by.
Very good B&B at a good price. We stayed on the 3rd floor which had exposed post and beam construction. Felt very private.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a treat!

Posted Aug 13, 2015
I live locally and an untimely home renovation project forced us to stay out of our house, I jumped at the chance to stay at Three Chimneys. It was a peaceful retreat! Dinner was great, the room was lovely, restarted the next day refreshed and ready to tackle the home project.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great B&B.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: People, food, etc.
Location: Perfect location while visiting UNH.
Wonderful staff made us feel welcome from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out. Our room was charming and comfortable and the food at the restaurant was terrific. We plan to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Towson, MD

New England classic

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Character
Cons: One rooms AC was not sufficient.
Wonderful place rich in history; richer in character. The staff was wonderful the first time on the way to our destination, we stopped again on the way home. We loved the personal attention like taking us to our room, etc. And the Tavern was fantastic for breakfast and even better for dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Beautiful room and setting. The food was great and the staff friendly. Definitely staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Quaint, historic hotel with an unexcelled staff

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location , staff and food.
Cons: We had a problem with our a/c in the room which was attended to immediately. There is little room for improvement.
Location: University of New Hampshire and the nearby village of Newmarket.
The staffs' attentiveness to our every need was the hallmark of our stay.