Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
35% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing off season

Posted Apr 17, 2018
The website said breakfast is included, but it isn’t offered off season. The thin floor above me meant I could hear every step, and a keyboard practicing. Yikes! When I called the front desk, though, he was helpful and made sure the pianomplaying stopped.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2018
it's an older inn that, needs to be updated. The shower head did not spray out water hard enough to get shampoo out of my hair!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bed bugs & prostitutes

Posted Mar 12, 2018
Left early due to bed bugs and filth. There were also prostitutes banging on the door all hours of the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Portsmouth

Posted Mar 9, 2018
My check-in experience was good, I was greeted welcomingly and asked if I needed any directions or recommendations of places to eat or go. The gentleman at the front desk had an approachable demeanor. I originally chose this hotel over the Motel 6 because it came with breakfast. Be aware though, that breakfast does not start until 9:00 and there are no options for people who need to leave before breakfast starts. The room had some recent updates which made it seem nice- fresh paint, new carpet and tile and a modern bedspread. The bathroom was not as clean as I usually like and that was a little disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hanover, NH

Charming hotel experience in Portsmouth

Posted Mar 4, 2018
Cons: The room smelled a little like smoke — just a room air freshener would be useful.
Had a great stay at this hotel when I had to spend a night in Portsmouth prior to a meeting. Room was well made, woman at the front desk very helpful and responsive (helped me print something out and had it waiting at the front desk before I left), overall quiet and peaceful, out of the way, exactly what I needed. One problem: It was a cold day and they had not turned on the heat prior to my arrival so I had to wait with my jacket on as the room heat up (but that wasn't even a big deal — central heating, room warmed up nicely and could be dialed down/up using the digital thermometer). Note to med students: Great place to stay if you're in town to take Step 2CK — really quiet, close enough to the center (15 min drive) and some shopping (Trader Joe's), very clean, fast internet, large and comfortable bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2018 by Jams, Hotel Management
you most welcome , we are glad that you had a great stay , please come again ,thank you.
2 out of 5
by Michael

Not very good, but it wasn't very expensive.

Posted Nov 15, 2017 on Hotels
Tiles missing from bathroom wall. Paint in the bathroom was spotty from being patched and only painting over patches, not the entire wall. Basically very run down. Really a bit of a dump. Needs a complete overhaul, or a bulldozer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eliot, Maine

Posted Nov 9, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: It was convenient, relatively inexpensive, comfortable, clean and quiet.
Location: We're local anyway but historic downtown Portsmouth, NH is minutes away with great restaurants, shopping and entertainment as is the seacoast.
My 93yo mother and I were glad to find a relatively inexpensive place to plug in her oxygen machine while our power was out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2017 by gm, Hotel Management
thank you
3 out of 5
by David

Smelled Bad

Posted Oct 26, 2017 on Hotels
Intense smell. Smelled like the mens room of an old bus station. Yuck.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Strong odor that can't be fixed

Posted Oct 23, 2017
After checking into one of the king rooms, my wife and I checked out the room, and immediately were greeted with an unpleasant smell like mold/dampness. We became skeptical of the room as we inspected for other issues. Found dead bugs, cobwebs, missing paint and a lot of hair in the tub drain. I went to the office to ask about other rooms, and the owner said they were all sold out of the king rooms, and immediately told me the other rooms were $40 or more... The smell - he said it was because of the location, as it was wet behind the building... He didn't want to help the situation, and we had just driven 2 hours to our destination at 9:30 pm. After discussing the fact that he was not sold out, he found a room that he "upgraded" me to. It was a king with a kitchen. The room did not have the strong odor to it, and was okay for the evening. We did find that the bathroom sink and bathtub had issues draining that were not apparent until we brushed our teeth or took a shower. I was standing in ankle deep water during my shower, keep in mind the shower heads are low flow for conservation... I seldom write reviews, but between the ownership trying to up sell and not fix the problem and the general fact that the room has an odor, I think people should be aware of what they are getting into as this is supposedly a 3 star accomodation... It certainly, even with the upgrade, not worth the discounted price we paid... I wish I had read the other reviews before booking...
4 out of 5
by Elisabeth

Lots of area activites

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great area- lots of fun!