Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Had a great time here, wish we stayed longer! Amazing view of the town, it's right next to a SITA bus stop. Getting to the beach is easy enough, and there is a salumeria nearby if you wanted to do a little grocery shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from montreal

A gem, could not ask for more... the view and all.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: The size of the room, the large window and balcony, the perfect condition of all the building.
Cons: Everything was the best.
Location: Facing the Bay of Naples, the neighbourhood in the mountain, near a local bus stop, restaurants and cafés nearby, all in all a great spot.
The staff, especially John at the reception, was most helpful to organise our transfer and to suggest hikes. Very friendly!
5 out of 5
by Ivis

"Wonderful Hotel"

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
A truly amazing hotel with breathtaking views, and a wonderful staff always ready to help. Highly recommend this hotel..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Wonderful Hotel with amazing views

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: If only the hard beds could be softer
Location: Central Location for all Tourist attractions and delicious restaurants to eat at.
Hotel California is wonderful. The staff became like family. The breakfast absolutely delicious. Location is great. Views are Amazing. Great value hotel. I would come back again.
5 out of 5
by Scott

Incredible memory!

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Wow! Incredible stay! Best staff and best place to stay on the Amalfi Coast! We will be back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great small hotel with many enticing details

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Room, breakfast, staff, location
Cons: Can't think of anything. It is a little expensive, but not as expensive as some of the higher end hotels in Positano.
Location: Location is near the Sponda bus stop. Easy walk down to beach.
This hotel is a former villa and has beautiful rooms with very high ceilings which are decoratively painted. We were on the top floor and had a completely unobstructed view of the sea. All the hotel staff were very helpful with anything we needed - calling for ferry service, bus times, help with luggage, etc. Breakfast was terrific with the usual bread, croissant, cheese , cereal, and yogurt selections, but with also amazing cakes every morning - the almond cake was especially good. The location is a short distance from the Sponda bus stop, and an easy walk down to the beach. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dishonest staff tried to get extra money from us!

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Worst hotel we stayed at in Italy! Pre-paid over a month in advance for a nicer room in the off season (Nov 2016). The room was far from cheap and there was much better off season deals at other hotels. We booked it because of the reviews online, only to have hotel try to get us to pay extra on our arrival to be in the room we pre-paid for. They first tried to put us into a very nasty room on their first floor. After much arguing, they put us in a slightly better room on the second floor but still not what we pre-paid for(even had a picture of room with us to show them!). Hotel desk lied to us about hotel being very booked.. it was almost empty! The bed in both rooms were terrible. The bathroom we ended up with had a cracked mirror and mold around bathtub and floor. The bedding had hair on it. Breakfast Buffet was very lacking. This hotel VERY MUCH needs a update. We traveled throughout Italy, this was definitely the worst place we stayed. This WAS NOT A CHARMING HOTEL, this was a dirty place, badly needing money spent on new bathrooms, mattress, pillows, sheets and enough cleaning help. Their bad breakfast we could have looked past, if the room was not so bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Excellent staff, beautiful views, would recommend staying at this hotel. Close to shops, restaurants, bus stop. Did I say excellent staff! I will be back!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great view - pity we didn't get to experience it.

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: The hotel has with a lovely terrace to eat breakfast on overlooking the sea. The breakfast was fine. Next door is a fantastic local restuarant called Brunos - and its just a short walk down the charming alleyway to the sea. The staff were helpful and welcoming. The surrounding area is lovely with lemon trees everywhere, a lovely port and beach and boats to take you anywhere on the Amalfi coast.
Cons: We were very disappointed to be given a family room on the ground floor after I had emailed the Hotel weeks before our stay requesting an upper floor room (same price but with better views and more privacy) but they had not responded. When I asked, they didn't seem to know about my request. Our balcony was directly on a public walkway and was not private. Guests frequently stopped outside our room to take selfies of the view, and some even stopped to smoke - meaning we needed to shut our windows! It felt like we were given this room because they needed to fill up the less popular ones. We chose this hotel because of the fabulous reviews speaking about the sea views and we felt our experience of travelling all this way had been spoiled by poor communication from the Hotel resulting in us getting a room with only a partial sea view.
Location: Positano is a beautiful and relaxed seaside town on top of a range of mountains. There is great boutique shopping and some outstanding restaurants.