Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
What a great spot. Room 297 looks out over Positano. A bit convoluted to get to the room. 411 steps down to the town but there is s shuttle bus @only Euro1.70 per person if you don't want to do the steps.
4 out of 5
by Linda from California

hotel royal positano

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
it was nice staff was very friendly. it is a good hike up the mountain from the center of town. The views are beautiful. no WiFi in the rooms. wifi is spotty but that is an issue everywhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, close to the beach.

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
I recommend staying here. Cheaper and clean. 617 steps to the beach. Attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Wonderful hotel with amazing views

Posted May 25, 2017
Location: There's a small supermarket, and a local restaurant up the steps not far from the hotel.
This was my sisters and my second visit to Hotel Royal Positano, and we couldn't have been happier to be back again. The staff (Mario the hotel manager in particular), were incredibly accommodating and helpful to us. The room we had was gorgeous, with beautiful views from the balcony (making the 400 steps up/down from the town centre totally worth it!). We will definitely be back to Hotel Royal...it's a little piece of heaven in my most favourite town in Italy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great views

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The situation,nice room
Cons: Broadband in the room
Location: Slightly away from the town and steep & long steps to get there, but good access by public bus . Fairly good access to Pompei, Capri etc. Lovely walk
Lovely hotel,rather high on the cliffs; nice room with terrace and great view
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio usa

Older hotel

Posted May 14, 2017
Nice older hotel. Staff were helpful. Our last night there ants were coming in around window. Went to hotel desk and they immediately sent someone up to take care of problem. The furnishings in the rooms are dated but we didn't spend much time in the room. The food in the hotel restaurant was very good. We rather enjoyed taking the 400 steps down into Positano and brining the bus back up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DISAPPOINTING

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: The one thing that was nice was the front desk manager. He was polite and fixed the charges on the room that were in excess.
Cons: Where do I start...
Location: Location was close to a bus stop and the bar at the top of the stairs above the hotel is fantastic. The owners there are nice.
This hotel is not what it looks like. I was disappointed that the pool was not open, and the food was expensive and flavorless. They charge 10 eros for room service from the restaurant, and 5 euros for room service from the bar (which is even water) on top of the price of whatever you ordered. The hotel is ran by people in their 20's who are very unprofessional if you are a woman and walk into the room. I had to deal with the wait staff getting drunk and knocking on my door at 2 am, waking me up, and then running down the hall when I answered the door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Amazing Views

Posted Apr 15, 2017
This hotel is on top of Positano with Amazing Views. Bus stop directly in front. It seems like it's 3 blogs in one. We had to take 2 elevators and a flight of stairs to our room. It's very worn down but it seems to be like that in most of Italy. Only big complain I have is that the restraunt staff didn't know english. Which makes it hard to order food. Otherwise the hotel was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Nice hotel. Friendly Staff. More 3 star than 4.

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Hotel was nice. the view from our "Seaview" room was fantastic. Not really a four-star hotel. Looks like it probably was at one time but definitely need some updates. staff was very friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC.

Very scenic and convenient

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The view from the suite was just impeccable. We received an upgrade to the 6th floor and the terrace alone was breathtaking. The location, despite all reviews I've read, is actually very convenient. Those long steps lead you directly to central Positano. Going back was easy as the bus comes every 30 minutes and costs pretty much nothing. It drops you right at the door. The room itself was well lit and spacey. The front desk staff were beyond hospitable and helpful.
Cons: It can use some renovations which I believe they are as they shut down the hotel on October 22.
Location: The location is high above Positano, providing a perfect view. You can easily get to central Positano using the steps and return by bus.