Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Beautiful hotel, nice location

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was wonderful, restaurant very good, and stopped for a drink at the bar every night with delicious appetizers. The staff is exceptional!
Cons: If shuttle ran all day would be perfect-no service from 11am and 5pm-the beach and shopping is 600 steps down-difficult to walk up when 90 degrees! :(
Location: Several beaches, lots of restaurants & shopping all in walking distance. Bustling area by beach-boats, water taxis, all accessible.
Villa Franca was wonderful! The staff is exceptional and goes above and beyond to please! Was like staying with family. Concierge made several reservation and boat arrangements for us and took care of all our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely intimate hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Very lovely hotel with attention to details. Staff are helpful and our stay there was certainly memorable. Really like the decor as well. Will recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Setting, facilities, staff, pools, Beach Club, outdoor terraces, car arrangements for nearby restaurants.
Cons: Wifi connections are weak and slow.
Location: Great in town restaurant is Ristorante Pizzeria Vittoria.
We were torn between the Belmond and Palazzo Avino. We chose Palazzo, stayed 5 nights in July 2017 and were so happy we did. The hotel, facilities, pools, bar, meals are 110% of our expectations. The views are unbelievable and the family has created an exquisite setting to take them in. Make sure that you pre-reserve seats in the van to go to the Beach Club before you arrive - its limited and worth it. The staff at the Beach Club were top-notch. I'll finish with the staff experience - they are incredible. They anticipate your needs, learn your preferences after the first time they see you and then check in regularly without being too much. We have stayed at some of the best hotels and the Palazzo Avino is one of the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Beautiful View!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
After reading many negative reviews I was having second thoughts days before my travel. My husband and I arrived at the hotel at 8:30 am. The staff was very friendly and gave us a complementary breakfast. Our room was ready by 11:30 am! The head waiter was very friendly throughout our stay and by mid week knew our "usual" order. The staff at the front desk was very knowledgeable on sites to see and very helpful with bookings (I highly recommended visiting Ravello). My only complaint is that the room is small. There are no dressers for clothing, only a small closet with two small drawers. However, the room was clean with a beautiful view! The beach is a distance with over 600 steps to climb down! There is a shuttle that will take you to the main beach but you still have a significant amount of walking. I highly recommend the smaller beach if your up to the climb! We had an early flight the day of departure and left the hotel at 4:30 am. The front desk had a box waiting for us with a breakfast to go! Overall we enjoyed our stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Insufficient differences to justify higher costs

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Style, service, breakfast
Cons: Overpriced, house keeping services / consistency, ironing services for clients, elevator functionality in second building
Location: At the top of Positano which is a small well interconnected village - the first along the Amalfi Coast. Boat tours, ceramics, clothes, leather shops
Lovely place, beautiful view, great pool - but these are things most other hotels offer at better prices. Disappointed with lack of clothes iron on offer. Staff responded that it was against Italian regulations and they would iron our clothes for a fee. I've travelled the world and have never come across this. In Cyprus they dedicate a room for guests to iron their clothes. House keeping was terrible - arrived late, did not leave adequate towelling, and did not leave complementary water on a regular basis. Hotel also divides its clients into two different buildings (higher priced units are in the main building with amenities). Hated having to travel between the two for breakfasts and to use the amenities. Elevator was very slow and did not work properly in the second building. Overall beautiful - but overpriced given what else is available throughout the little / well connected town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel with absolutely stunning views

Posted May 28, 2017
We spent 6 wonderful days at Hotel Villa Franca. It has been completely refurbished. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The hotel restaurant offers a dining experience not to be missed. The views from the breakfast room are truly spectacular. This hotel sits high above the town and beaches. The walk down and, more especially back up, is not easy. They do however run a complimentary shuttle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect location

Posted May 24, 2017
Close to beach, restaurants, and shops! Hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast buffet had a great selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice small boutique hotel with great view

Posted May 21, 2017
Loved everything about this hotel. Comfy oom, nice breakfast, great view, and roof top swimming pool & bar. If you plan to drive there, you might think the parking is a bit expensive (40/night), but considering Positano is a small town with limited space, it was understandable to me. Enjoy your stay at Villa Franca. You will love it!
5 out of 5
by Maria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from argentina

Very good.response from Mr Luigi frint desk mgr

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: View.is awesome. Crew is very friendly. i did like it
Cons: Noisy when windy but Front desk.mgr had an excellent attitude to assist