Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney, aus

Just didn’t stack up

Posted Jan 7, 2018
For the price it’s difficult to accept you are getting value for money. Yes the view is good. But the restuarant is closed during winter, the toiletries weren’t l’occitane as advertised. Our first night it looked like the owners or someone who new them were having dinner or drinks in the Restuarant/bar and their dog was inside enjoying the ambience with them
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Gabriele, Hotel Management
Tariffs, service and booking conditions are clearly specified before booking. Unfortunately, the price issue could be for a missed refund given by us for your change of plans. We hope you can understand that our hotel cares a lot about guests and we threat them always in the same way and will not be professional to refund a guest, when his booking is in penalty, rather than another one. As you pointed out, we have changed our body and shower line with a new luxury brand, Ortigia. In fact, we are constantly searching better, more exclusive and less commercial products for our clients. The restaurant is seasonal, as specified on official web sites, and our hotel in general, is pet friendly, like most of the hotels here. If this is an issue for you than maybe it was advisable to choose one which doesn’t welcome pets.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SAN MARCOS, CA

Very Bad Experience!

Posted Jan 3, 2018
We booked a 3 night stay 12/26/17-12/29/17. Don't believe the photos of the hotel. Very misleading. The room was small and the bed- very uncomfortable and very low to the ground. Not what you would expect for the huge sum we paid! Especially for the winter months when it is stormy and you have to camp out there! The room was prepaid and non-refundable. We arrived and the weather was turning stormy and the forecast for the next few days was rainy, windy and cold. I asked the owner/manager about restaurants & she said most or all of the restaurants were closed this time of the year, and Sorrento was at least 40 minutes away by bus or taxi! She did tell me there were 3 open nearby, and the weather was ok, so we walked. Next day, very stormy. We bought groceries and stayed in for dinner (in that small space). I had called Expedia and explained and asked if the hotel would let us leave a day early with a refund. The answer was no! I understand the room was ppd, but in light of everything you would think mgmt would in good faith and good customer relations do something for us, but no. Expedia also attempted again when we returned home, and again the answer was no. I would not recommend anyone to stay here because the rates are much too high for what you get, especially in winter! The management has no regard or empathy for the customer. It seems they think of only their bottom line. The employees, were nice, but it's a shame management could not be customer friendly. DAN P
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Gabriele, Hotel Management
Dear Sir as you just mentioned the rate chosen doesn’t permit a reimburse for an earlier check out. The Expedia customer service should always mention the booking conditions and not provide the guests with incorrect information, like the possibility of a cancellation of a no refundable rate. The same booking conditions guaranty our guests to have the room booked on their arrival. For a more flexibility on your side would you accept to be changed a room at last minute or even to have your booking cancelled? For these reasons when you make a booking you sign a contract which protects both sides. Positano is well known for being an exclusive, relaxing and romantic destination which is the opposite of what you can find in a big city. Surely the place the period of travelling, the hotel and the room rates are your choice. As you said, travelling in the winter period you should expect rainy days. The hotel provided you a list of restaurants open during the period, which included also our wine & snacks bar. The information you have provided are not correct as your room was exactly the one shown by pictures on the website. There you can also find all the descriptions and services offered. You judged our customer service when actually you never referred to us directly. Maybe we could have assisted you better if you would have referred directly to us instead of dealing with a call center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Very nice staff. Good breakfast.

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Quaint. Lovely staff. Cute room. Nice view.
Cons: Bed was hard
Location: Shopping, restaurant, etc. although most close down in November.
Beautiful hotel. A little far from town. Parking is good breakfast is good. Very accommodating staff. Rooms a little small but nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a view

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Nice, small hotel with great views on the sea and city. There was construction in the area that distracted from the atmosphere but not fault of staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Quaint hotel with fantastic views of the sea

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Quaint hotel with fantastic views of the sea. We just returned from an extended stay at this hotel. It was wonderful! The staff was always very pleasant and helpful in answering all of our many questions. We had a beautiful view of the sea from our hotel room balcony. The room was quite large. Breakfast buffet was plentiful, and the dinner we had at their restaurant was very good. I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Great staff and very nice hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Staff was the greatest. Very friendly and helpful. Location was midway up the road, with a bus stop right in front of hotel. Room was quiet with spectacular views from the balcony (every room seemed to have a private balcony). Restaurant was very good and morning breakfast buffet was perfect. would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Positano Gem

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely boutique hotel. Gorgeous room with pretty balcony and spectacular view. Not as close to town center as some hotels but close enough to walk (rather than taxi). Friendly and helpful staff, good restaurant. Would definitely recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Hotel is very nice, but Positano is a bit difficult to get around as compared to Amalfi and Sorrento.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice overnight stay. Good Location. Food Okay.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Location, Patio, View
Cons: Food
Location: Away from craziness of the central area. Nice shops nearby.
da Gabrisa Hotel is situated in an excellent location...away from the craziness of the central area but not terribly out of the way. It was close to some nice authentic shops...my favorite is Linomania (a shop & factory that make their own linen & design their own clothing--I ended up buying 2 dresses--much nicer than the dime a dozen shops in the central area). Maestro Positano is a custom made sandal shop ran by a brother & sister 4th generation sandal maker. She designs it, and he makes it custom to your feet. Da Gabrisa is a small family run luxury hotel. The rooms are comfortable with a terrace and a beautiful view. We were shown around our room & greeted with Prosecco. I was impressed that there was a little elevator in the hotel. TV had English channels. Bath products by L'Occitane. The restaurant has seating outside with a breathtaking view & an interesting menu. I went with a simpler pasta with tomatoes from 3 regions which was disappointing to me but my husband, who had the ravioli in pumpkin sauce, thoroughly enjoyed it. We also had the seafood soup which I found rather salty and the carpaccio quite good. Overall I found the food was okay but didn't blow my mind. I particularly loved the breakfast, which was included. The staff was super friendly. I would stay there again, have coffee, dessert, drinks in their patio. The actual stay was really great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal, Canada

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Staff is very welcoming. Hotel has great view, just have to walk a lot of steps to reach the beach. Small problem with the room, but they were able to fix it quickly.