Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Aaron

Takes the cake for worst place I've ever stayed :(

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
This is mostly an apartment complex and should not be a hotel supported by hotels.com. The one positive is it is as close as you can get to the beach. The one old woman running the establishment does not speak English and is unorganized and unprofessional. She gave us a very small one bedroom about 10ft wide when I pre paid for a much larger two bedroom. We wanted to leave when we seen the rooms, but her translator over the phone refused to refund me. I felt stuck. Hotels.com did give me $100 credit but the room I paid for was 300 per night. This woman doesn't always knock. You have to always lock yourself inside because she barged in on me twice! I stayed in two different rooms at this hotel, both were very uncomfortable. One had bugs from a window left fully open before I arrived, and the second had someone else's hairs everywhere. I doubt the shower was clean because there was a used soap bar sitting inside. We asked for a regular clothing iron multiple times, first they said, "no the next day only." Then they flat out said no. There are no phones, no help with your bags, no service what so ever from this place. Once in the night around 9pm we needed something and went to the management door where the old woman stayed and although we heard her inside she refused to answer. On our way out we seen a couple going through the same things we did. I am genuinely worried about future bookings utilizing hotels.com because this was so misleading and made me feel scammed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location, no front desk, undependable Wifi.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The person overseeing the apartments, Rosa, was a really hard worker. Admired her.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiesbaden, Germany

Hotel with great location

Posted May 21, 2017
Loved staying on a hotel located on the beach! In Positano, there is a long walked down (and eventually back up) to the beach - not so at this hotel!! Our room seemed like a small apartment with a tiny kitchenette and small refrigerator. My husband and I like to travel a lot - the price on this hotel was great. You don't have the large staff as other hotels, but we found Rosa very helpful and always ready to give us advise or a friendly greeting (we looked forward to seeing her everyday!) There were a couple of grocery store nearby for snacks and drinks. One night my husband and I bought the best pizza ever and took it back to our balcony - which had the best views of Positano!! Thinking of going back for a longer (month) visit and this place will be perfect!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
positano is Positano beautifull adn expensive the hotel was good, front of the sean, in the hearth of Positano just few details....wifi? yeas but to pay....not as showed in the featured details as coffe machine was a espresso machine but no sugar and coffe and was a comunitary kitchen in the alley anyway is Positano
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
There was no "place" to check in as in front office or check in . It is a house broken up into rooms so it's ok for that but not what I was expecting . I was disappointed overall .The location was great but had no parking
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Do not stay here.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
I took charge of booking our honeymoon in Italy and reserved a room on Expedia for 3 nights at La Caravella about two months prior to our scheduled stay. We recived a confirmation from Expedia and were told that we did not need to re-confirm with the hotel. After a delightful 2 nights in Almafi we drove to Positano for the next leg of our trip and upon arrival we were told they didn't have our reservation and they did not have an available room for us. Rosa, the onsite contact brought us into a basement laundry room that smelled of cigarettes and had half drunk bottles of gin and Campari strewn about. She put us on the phone with someone I have never met or interacted with and after 25min of discussion we were offered one night at twice the cost of our original booking. I have never been so mad in my life, all we wanted was a relaxing 3 days on the beach and instead we were left on the streets without a place to stay in a foreign country. After being turned away we stopped by multiple hotels to inquire about rooms and were told that we were not the first couple that had been turned away and in fact La Caravella had knowingly over booked 5 rooms to try and drive a higher cost during a particularly busy weekend. I would advise you to look elsewhere for accommodations when in Positano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place, great hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2016
was great, thank you for all the service. Hotel is right on beach and walking distance from everything in positano
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Great value

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Best location in town but parking is a issue tho. You have to park in 1 o 2 parking garages at 30Euros a day. Unexpected cost. Apartment was clean and nice. Perfect location and quite at night. Wifi is an extra charge which should be included in the price tho. All in all the location is great!
5 out of 5
by Porsche from ohio

great rental

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely place. This is not a hotel, this is an apartment rental. It is right on the beach. We had lots of room (one bedroom, large patio, small kitchen, bathroom). I would come back and bring my family here to stay. There is the private beach, although not right on the water, only a few more steps to the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but don't expect service

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
While the hotel is nice and fantastically located, there is no front desk, which makes it difficult to check in and check out, or to get maid service or towels. If it had been easier to get in contact with hotel staff, I would've given the hotel a better rating. However, we had a fantastic stay in Positano, a truly fantastic town.