Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Upscale hotel, with breathtaking views.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: The views are phenomenal, and the rooms are extremely spacious.
Cons: Cleaner private room terraces (ants, lots of bugs and rusted chairs refrained us from spending time on our private terrace).
Location: Located east of the main town. Takes 15min to walk into town. Convenient direct access to the beach (but comes at a price with LOTS of stairs).
This cute "honeymoon style" hotel is romantic, well located, and offers one of the best views of Positano. The rooms are expansive, and the bedding and drapes are very romantic. Bathroom is spacious as well, however the cotton curtains on the window in the shower was too invasive as it would keep sticking to me while showering. The shower also leaked water all over the floor. Maybe it was just my room. The breakfast was standard. The sun terrace and views are unreal. Johnny at the bar by the terrace was fantastic. The infinity pool offers the same amazing view of Positano. I could've spent all day looking out at the sea from the pool. Just a fair warning that there are about 10 flights of stairs to get down to the beach unless you walk down the city streets which take you into town (about a 15min brisk walk). It's quite easy going down, but coming up isn't for the faint of heart.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pictures don't do it justice.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
This place was amazing. Everything about it. The room, the staff, the views, the location. It was so awesome. I even got an upgraded GIANT room for no reason. Highly recommend it and I will be back soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No water pressure and not hot

Posted May 26, 2017
No hot water. I was told you can't take a shower at popular times during the day. Then we tried to use the safe and followed the directions. Help came to the room and they tore up directions and said they were wrong! How was I to know the directions they printed up were incorrect. They did a turn down service at night only to come back to a room which was super dark with no lights in to see your way around. Definitely not any kind of value for almost $500 per night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Perfect location, amazing view !

Posted May 18, 2017
We stayed in the suite and couldn't have asked for a better view! The rooms were very spacious and clean. Bathroom was amazing with our own private jacuzzi overlooking the sea from the balcony. Check in and out was pleasant, staff were very friendly and accommodating. Facilities were great with two restaurants and pool. Location is great- higher up on the mountain and very close to the main strip of shops and restaurants. The wifi connection could have been better- had a lot of trouble getting a strong signal in our room. Buffet breakfast was average, it was the same food every morning - could have had more variety and change.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Amazing location and hotel!

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Johnny on staff was the MVP of our stay. The hotel reception staff was ok.
Cons: We had a difficult time communicating with the hotel before hand via email to arrange ground transportation.
We were so pleasantly surprised by the hotel and our experience. The pool and beach were breathtaking. Breakfast was very well done and you could take it in your room also. Will definitely return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Excellent view but hotel is aging.

Posted May 5, 2017
Hotel is difficult to find if you are not familiar with Poaitano and they do not provide any transfers. Excellent view but the rooms are decorated from the 60s.
5 out of 5
by Alexa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Lance

Close, but not quite there

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
The junior suite we received was literally the room shown online as a superior room. When pointing this out, it was vehemently denied by the front desk despite showing them photos from their own website of the discrepancy. Additionally, there were some issues with the water going very hot/cold and intermittently stopping all together. Additionally, the claim of a private beach is not true. There is a staircase leading down to a concrete slab surrounded by another hotel's property between the slab and the beach/water. This hotel has the look and location of a four star hotel, but is not quite there yet. Some positive highlights are the location, views, and the pool boy Gianni, who is the man.
5 out of 5
by Ashley

Amazing Positano Hotel!

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels
You can not beat the location of the Marincanto! The staff were all extremely helpful and accommodating during our entire stay. Our room was very spacious, a little loud as we were right above the terrace, but the views were INCREDIBLE. Would definitely return for another stay.
5 out of 5
by Sara

Beautiful hotel in paradise!

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful, elegant, relaxing stay in paradise. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the center/harbor of Positano but worth it! The views from our room were incredible. Breakfast is wonderful and dinner was delicious! The pool was a bit chilly, but again, the view was breathtaking. The staff was wonderful; they recommended Ristorante Casa Mele for dinner one night -- it is just up the road and fabulous!