Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Not worth the $

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Way over priced for the quality and location. Breakfast is 2 star not 5. Out of 4 day stay once served coffee with salted water and once served tea with salted water, on two separate days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Palazzo Marzoli Resort, Positano, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, If you have any complaint when you was here in Positano you must say and we will do the possible to resolve it. Yours Sincerely. Palazzo Marzoli charme Resort, Positano
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Underwhelming/Disappointing First Time to Positano

Posted Sep 4, 2017
We definitely would NOT recommend staying at this hotel. The hotel is too far up the mountain and it takes about 20 min (and many steps) to get down to the cove and beach, which is the main tourist area. The hotel itself was OK in terms of cleanliness but the room was very hot even with air conditioning on. The room could and overall Hotel could definitely use updating as it is very dated. The complimentary breakfast delivered to the rooms is pitiful. Wifi is not included and so you must pay €10/day PER DEVICE to use the internet, which is only valid in the room. If you want to have wifi access in the public areas of the hotel, you have to pay an additional €10 per day for this. Don't worry, there aren't really any public areas in this small hotel so you won't need the public wifi. The above issues, however, are the least of my concerns. I have never felt so unwelcomed in a hotel in my life, nor have I have felt so taken advantage of. Most of the staff did not speak English and the daughter of the owners, Daniela, did most of the translating. Every time we asked a question, we then had to wait for a 3-4 minute conversation between the family to take place before receiving an answer. They made no effort to welcome us and give us a rundown of the city, hotel or main tourist attractions of Positano. Car Service was overpriced. They never missed an opportunity to squeeze more money out of us. I will never stay here again or recommend it to anyone else I know.
1 out of 5
by thomas

Horrible!

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
Horrible service. We had reserved for our 50th Anniversary. Hired private driver to take us from Naples right up to hotel front door. As he unloaded our luggage this horrible woman from front desk comes running up saying no, no, you can't stay here we have no room for you. Even though we had our reservation and she knew we were reserved there. She was RUDE and yelled at our driver to take us to their "sister" hotel. Because of the stairs, etc. in Positano he couldn't drive us there, we had to hire a porter (another $50) to take our bags there while we had to walk and walk on our own...not knowing where this other hotel was located. The hotel was on the beach, which was nice, but just a "site manager" and no concierge to help us out. The woman at Palazzo Marzolie should be FIRED! The manger (Rosa) at the other property was very nice (Caravelle), but we booked an "elegant" hotel and though we were down on the beach, we got a more basic place. We feel humiliated and cheated. I do want to say that Rosa was very nice to us and tried her best to make us feel comfortable. The other woman (didn't catch her name while she was "shooing" us away needs a severe talking to and most preferably fired. You need to follow up with this hotel....we feel we should be reimbursed for the porter (both ways - because we had to do the same thing when we left). We also feel overcharged based on the difference in "elegant" vs more basic hotel. We are also owed an apology by hotel and you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cali

Excuse-filled, powdered breakfast, dog & pony show

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Great views. Though Positano is great from any angle. Honestly, Positano from the main town center looking up is a more dramatic view.
Cons: Staff does not speak good english, minimize issues instead of fixing them. Breakfast subpar/packaged.
Location: Far from main action in Positano, a long walk down and streous on way up so make sure you are fit. Lastly, I would not recommend.
We stayed here for several nights. This hotel is literally at the top of Positano by the main highway, so it's quite a trek down. We enjoyed the exercise, but it does make things inconvenient if you want to quickly run to your room for something. They supposedly have a shuttle but it seemed like a hassle as it only had a few pick up times. Most Positano hotels are rustic; I'd say this one is that way as well, though they've tried to make it modern looking outside. They own a sister property right on the waterfront which looks amazing. We paid an upgraded rate to get a jacuzzi terrace, thinking the bigger terrace offered better views. Honestly, the regular superior view room is just as good. The jacuzzi was not clean (staff said it was due to wind) and it did not maintain temperature ; one day it did not heat up past 33 degrees C, so that was disappointing (blame it on a "cold" 65 degree night). Staff tried to sweep these issues under the rug rather than trying to please us, which is what most hotels would do (one staff put his hand and pretended it was too hot: "Ahh Ow", i.e. a dog & pony show). They did not provide any discount or refund for lack of functional jacuzzi which is the whole reason we got that room. They tried to push a private expensive tour of Pompei (I suggest renting a car like we did). Also, breakfast is horrendous. Powdered eggs, packaged croissant, crackers, powdered orange drink. Capuccino seemed fresh, but that's it. Sheets uncomfortable, not cozy.
4 out of 5
by Christine

Great view, clean and spacious room

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Well looked after and very clean boutique hotel. Staff were very friendly, but not all spoke english which made some communication a little difficult. We were given a great, spacious room on the top floor with a wonderful private balcony. The air-conditioning didn't always work though.. Had to call reception who seemed to have the control to turn it on/off. Luckily we weren't there in the heat of summer. The jacuzzi was also unavailable for use until June. Parking is available on site for 35 euro per night for a medium sized car. This was quite handy as public parking garages in the area were quite difficult to get to. The hotel is located on the top of the town.. To get into Positano you need to catch a local bus, the stop is a 2 minute walk away from the hotel. The hotel do offer a free shuttle service to and from, but are not always available to do so. Wifi is not free and very expensive per day charge. A very basic free breakfast is served in the room. Other items are available, but is quite expensive. Room service has a 20 euro fee for any orders.. there are only a couple of restaurants nearby. Beware of using their phone. We made a 20 min local call which cost 30 euro on check out. The rate of the call was not discussed prior to connection of the call nor were the rates documented anywhere in the menu. You need to leave your hotel key at reception everytime you leave the hotel. We were given the incorrect room key on one occassion- not sure how safe that system is
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
Cons: The bed is quite hard and uncomfortable, so a foam or down mattress topper or a new mattress would be wonderful.
The view was amazing!! We loved looking out to the view, but the patio wall was too high to see over while seated at the table. Maybe a tall bistro type table and barstool chairs would be more appropriate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great hotel, not so great staff.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: The view from our room.
Cons: The front desk staff.
Location: Great place up on the hill with a great view.
This was a lovely place to stay, beautiful room, beautiful view of the water, and a great location. But the woman who booked the room for us forgot that the hotel was closing for the season for renovations and she told us we had to leave a day early - this was at 7:00 at night and check out was the next morning at 11:00. And she refused to pay for our transfer to another hotel - which she charged us 50 Euro for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago IL

Beautiful

Posted Sep 24, 2016
I can't say enough good things about Palazzo Marzoli. We were welcomed upon arrival and were extremely happy with the service. All staff were very nice and accommodating. Breakfast was served daily on our deck and was substantial. The rooms were beautiful and the location for us was perfect. It's at the upper part of Positano but an easy walk to the beach. Also close to laundry and local markets. After a cramped bus ride from Sorrento we enlisted the hotel's shuttle which was very worth it. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Love the View

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Love this hotel so much - location, its view, staff, free shuttle and the nicely decorated room. I missed it so much!