Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
20% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerville, NJ

DO NOT STAY HERE! Disgusting and seedy

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Let me start off by saying I have stayed in many different hotel/motels. If the rooms looked anything like advertised, I wouldn't have minded. However, my husband and I were horribly disgusted by the state of the room we were given. Within 30 seconds of entering the room, we knew we could not stay the night there. The pictures posted on the website are very misleading and are nothing like the actual room. I'm not even sure where to begin: the flooring had holes in it, the furniture was broken, the mattress didn't even have a fitted sheet on it, the lampshades were cracked, there was cigarette holes in the blanket on the bed, there were no towels in the bathroom, and it was all around a disgusting place. It smelled like drugs. The only thing missing was a chalk outline on the floor. You couldn't pay me $60 dollars to stay there. When we approached management about our issues, he did not seem to care. We ended up returning the keys and getting a room at the Ramada down the street- which was a much better experience. My only regret was not taking any pictures of the room at the Pottsville Motor Inn, because my description doesn't do it justice. But I felt like just standing in the room increased my chances of contracting Hepatitis, so pictures were the last thing on my mind. DO NOT STAY HERE! Stay at the Ramada instead, the extra money is completely worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
The room looked and felt dirty. Needed updating. Holes in walls, stained ceiling tiles.
2 out of 5
by Marjorie

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
No hair dryer or iron, no conditioner tissues.....the needed amenities
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: price
Cons: needs major renovation.
Location: Noisy area truck running by all night.
Hotel is old and outdated needs a major renovation. The room had a moldy smell coming from the A/C. Hotel owner was very abrupt and kept asking me if I had any pets. Was glad to leave very early next morning.
2 out of 5
by Hope from Pa

major upgrade needed

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very run down and needs MAJOR updates!! Our room had a musty smell and not the best decor, it felt like we were staying inside of spongebob!! The walls were very dirty yellow and the carpet was nasty!! The shower had great hot water, but could use a hard scrub down!! The office was very unperfessional!! They stay upstairs and you have to ring a bell, wait outside until they get downstairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
Bed felt like it was broken. Pillows hard. Was fine for the one night was needed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We can take a little worse for the wear BUT....

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Our nonsmoking room was so heavily saturated with nicotine odor that our clothes and even luggage picked up the smell in just a little over 12 hours. Plus one of the top sheets had a huge what appeared to be grease stain that we both hunkered down in the second bed and left that one quite alone. The room was large with a fridge, microwave, table and chairs along with the standard desk etc. So while we can overlook the outdated decor, the peeling molding, the older tv etc. those two major issues made the stay unpleasant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst.

Posted Apr 3, 2016
The staff was inconsiderate. The non smoking rooms had cigarette odor, uncomfortable beds and will not stay there anymore. I guess you get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Motor Lodge...

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: Main feature is that it is inexpensive...did not expect that much so it was a little bit better that expected...serves a broad client base.
Located on a bluff above the city....nice view...convenient to shopping with a good array of local restaurants. Facility is old...and shows its age...heat system works well and television service is pretty good for a remote location. City (Pottsville) is home to the Yeungling Brewery and has a spectacular old County Courthouse building and associated facilities that point to a grand past.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find another motel

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was less then friendly. Roomed look dingy and stunk. TV was from 1995. Bathroom looked dirty.