Ratings based on 523 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, happy hour bonus!

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Lovely hotel with a charming river in its backyard. Happy hour and free breakfast makes it even better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Carol, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We hope to see you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hyde Park

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
When we come to the area this is our hotel of choice. Love the location, close to shops, historic sites and plenty of restaurants to chose from. Staff is always super nice and helpful, room is very clean, comfortable and with great amenities. Breakfast is good for what is offered. Overall great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Carol, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing your review and for staying with us. We look forward to your return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Owego, NY

Beautiful secluded setting close to the city.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
This is a very clean property. Breakfast was nice and we enjoyed the secluded setting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Carol, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fountain Valley, CA

Bad review of the hotel.

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: The best part of the hotel was the view from our room to the river.
Cons: The elevator was not working at the time, so we had to use the stairs. Management should have called a service man out to fix the elevator ASAP.
Location: Hyde Park.
My wife and I feel that this was the worst hotel we stayed at on our vacation. We paid $434.36 for two nights (May 20 and May 21st), and stay was not worth the cost. The best part of the hotel is the view outside the window to the river. The desk inside our room was oversized. There was not enough room to move between the chair and the bed. The breakfast was below our standard. The eggs did not taste right. We felt comfortable in eating the bread, yogurt, and the juice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Carol, Hotel Management
We are sorry you did not like your stay. The elevator has been fixed. We were at the mercy of our service company ordering replacement parts. Happy to say it is back in serve now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Cons: The beds are too high. I'm a short person and I had to use the sofa sleeper because the bed was too high for me to get into.
The hotel staff was friendly and the breakfast had a nice variety. My only concern was the beds were too high. They looked comfortable but I had to sleep on the sofa sleeper since I couldn't climb into the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Carol, Hotel Management
Sorry about the bed being too high for you. Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017
Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt. Vernon, NY

Our regular stop in Poughkeepsie.

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Convenience, location, pricing
Cons: everything is fine
Location: The Culinary Institute of America is just north in Hyde Park. Great restaurants there and throughout the region.
We had a great room overlooking the very active Wappingers creek. We stay here when we visit friends in Poughkeepsie 4-5 time a year and this is our preference. Room is comfortable, plenty of hot water (very important), a good free breakfast. They also have a happy hour with free wine but we are usually out and about and never make it but it is still available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Carol, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We hope to see you back soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An unkempt and unsafe hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
When we stayed they were doing repainting of some of the rooms which they did not mention when we booked the hotel they had their supplies out and the smell was not pleasant. It also looked unprofessional because they had the door numbers taped to the doors. The walls are so thin here that I can hear people next to us going to the bathroom. That, however, was nothing compared to the night we had on Saturday. We were woken up around 2 a.m. from loud noises in the room next door then they started playing very loud music. In another room a couple started fighting and it sounded serious. We feared for her safety and we tried calling the front desk several times over 5 times and they never answered. We came out of our room to go over and see if there's even anyone working at night we finally found the person behind the desk who is most likely asleep the whole time and ask them to take care of the noise they said they would get right on it, but the loud music continued I had to call back the front desk again from my cell phone to tell them the room next door to us was being loud. He finally called the room and ask them to be quiet. It certainly was not a pleasant night, we didn't get enough sleep, it was not romantic, and it felt unsafe. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone if you were going to the Hudson Valley I recommend going to a town farther up north and not wasting your money on this hotel or any place in Poughkeepsie.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the guests next door making all the noise. As for the painting they are doing small areas of the hotel and it has not been a problem as it is not major renovations. Sorry you felt it was. Our hotel is very safe and guests love staying here. We hope you would come back again so that we can show you this is not our norm and we care about the happiness of our guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Great place ! Clean and comfortable with a nice staff !
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Carol, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and writing your review. We are all happy you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
by Nicole

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, we are happy you enjoyed your stay.