Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

2.0 out of 5
20% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

You know there's a problem when...

Posted Nov 17, 2016
We got to the hotel and the first thing I see is the hotels rooftop ac/heating units on the ground in the parking lot. We walk in and everything is very dated and worn. The desk clerk was nice enough checked is in fairly quickly and explain they're renovating. We were in poughkeepsie for a wedding so we started getting ready. I go to wash my face and ..no hot water. My husband goes to the desk clerk and she call maintenence. We didn't have time to waste so we got ready for the weddingrill, on our way out the clerk let's us know we should have hot water, we let her know we didn't have time to check but we would check when we got back. Luckily we get back and there's hot water. The tv was old and got 2 channela, there was no WiFi that we knew of. Breakfast was from 7-10 meaning they put everything out at 7 aname leave it there until 10. We got there a little after nine everything that needed to be refrigerated was covered in cold water which I assume was just melted ice. The eggs were old and the sausage looked like hockey pucks, they couldn't even be bothered with getting grocery store Danish they had the vending machine individualy wrapped kind. The toaster was disgusting it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. Overall a very disappointing stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Neaver again

Posted Oct 27, 2016
What can i say, There was no hot water and the TV only gets 2 channels. When i spoke to the front desk about it i was informed that i needed the let the water run for 30min and the satelite reception is poor in the area. I had to laugh and walk away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Fine for travelers

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The breakfast spread is actually pretty good, so we didn't need to go out and buy breakfast somewhere. The bathrooms and sheets were clean, which is the most important thing to me, but there wasn't a mini fridge and the rooms were pretty basic. No fancy linens or anything, but if that's not important to you, it's a fine place to spend the night.
Cons: The rooms weren't very updated, and a lot of the outlets were broken. However, it looks like they're updating the hotel so this may change soon.
Location: Plenty of restaurants nearby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Grand in it's time

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Rooms are large. Many historical photos of FDR.There is a sence of Grand Hotel it once was.
Cons: Renovation
Location: Great location,many attractions.
Friendly staff,eager to please. Breakfast was full,hot with multiple selections.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: We were traveling for college admission for my son.
The hotel staf was very friendly, the hotel is under renovations which are very needed. The room was clean but the bed was hard as a rock.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Book Here

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Finish renovating it before you rent rooms.
The place is under renovations. There were no guests other than us. The lobby smelled bad. We waited 15 minutes for someone to show up at the front desk. One room was deplorable and we had to ask for another room which had old beds in it. I had booked two rooms for three nights, we left the first morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Don't Go !

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The front desk clerk was very understandable and offered refund immediately. She deserves a 100% raise !!!!!!
Cons: Close Down !
Horrible.... Left after 4 minutes. Would never recommend this hotel, not even to my enemies. Remodeling was everywhere, NO ELEVATORS and room on the 3rd floor, mold on the ceiling tiles hanging down over the beds, dead fly between the pillows, and a horrific odor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York

This place was a dump !!!

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Nothing !!
Cons: Everything !!
Location: The Galleria Mall
This hotel was beyond disappointing !! From the overgrown shrubs outside to the stained carpet in the lobby to the snotty girl at the reception desk, this place was a disaster !! Next time I need hotel reservations, I will not use Expedia as the pictures they use were probably from 15 years ago!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Horrible Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Cons: see above.
Location: location is good for being close to Vassar
Booked late for Vassar parent's weekend and had no choice but to stay at The Mercury Hotel unless we wanted to drive 45 minutes away. When pulling into the hotel we could see several rooms from the outside had holes and or looked ripped or even shredded drapes. The hallways stunk, the TV was from the 90's and the remote didn't work. The breakfast included was in an enormous room with 6 tables and bagels and artificial eggs.... The picture of the front desk is the only reason I booked it and was the only nice thing in the hotel!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I wouldn't stay there if it was free!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
When you walked in it smelled, our room smelled awful, it was filthy, the ceiling tiles were falling out. I demanded that we be refunded our non-refundable reservation. Thank goodness the girl at the front desk must have realized how awful it was and agreed to approve our refund. Spent 45 minutes on the phone with Expedia and was given a refund. DON'T stay there.