Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel off the beaten track

Posted Jul 23, 2017
The Hotel do Mar is around half the cost of those located in Ponta Delgado. This is (I guess) because it is located in a small town called Povoacao which is drive of about 1 hour from Sao Miguel's capital. Most roads are fine. Some have multiple pot holes or are narrow. Choose your route carefully!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vidin, Bulgaria

Nice views....but it's time to update the rooms

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Orbitz
The main areas of the hotel are beautiful. Breakfast is good, if you are there for a couple of days. The pool area was nice. And the views are amazing. Everything else need improvement. The mattress, pillows, bathroom, etc. The exterior an common areas are a 4 starts, the rooms maybe a 2 or 2.5 tops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value .. Friendly and accommodating staff....

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Manager booked extra day at the lowest rate.m Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Excellent place to stay

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Hotel do Mar is close to all we wanted to do. Thermal bathing, hiking, grocery shopping, many sight seeing attractions are just a few minutes away by
We arrived early and we were greeted by Diogo at reception. This gentleman made our stay perfect. He gave us a map of all the highlighted areas to go and see. He made reservations at Ponta do Garajau restaurant and the meal was fantastic. This hotel was right off the peer and close to everything. Thank you for a wonderful stay at your hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location to get away

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great place to get away from the craziness of life and the city. The area is beautiful and the people are very friendly. We will definitely be back next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r. Ma 01940

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Hotel is very clean , staff very friendly , love the breakfast , can wait to go back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
A nice quiet Hotel on the ocean front. It's nice to see that certain items have been upgraded since my last visit. LCD TV, bar fridge, and in room WIFI. The pool area is still my favorite feature. Next on my request list for upgrading, the beds!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, UK.

Recent refurbishments are impressive.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: It's location and style and the helpful staff.
Cons: More drawer space.
Location: Furnas hot bathing pools and gardens, south coast sea bathing and east coast picnic parks.
We were warmly welcomed, with a local liqueur. Our room with a sea view on the first floor had a.private and large balcony, well designed for the climate, with table and chairs and a lounger. The beds were very comfortable. A little more drawer space would have been welcome. The fridge was really handy for storing our lunch snacks from the local supermarket. Povocao is a great centre for the east side of the island with its warm pools and picnic spots.