Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Langley,BC

Relatively close to the beach.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Easy road access. Contrary to the restaurant the Pub and Grill held its owe with decent service, selection of menu items and the food quality.
Cons: The restaurant servers definitely need to be properly trained and/or replaced!
Location: The hotel is a little more than a kilometer from the waters edge. Fast good outlets like Tim Horton's, Starbucks and A&W are close.
I struggled a little between a overall rating of 2 or 3. The staff at the desk was courteous and helpful and the room was well kept. The facility is showing a little age with scrapes, scuffs and chips. Needs some TLC. When I arrived just after lunch I was told the restaurant grill would be shutdown shortly and I would have to order quickly. I get that but felt rushed through the meal and asked if I could pay on delivery so the waitress could cash out. The salad with the meal was made with old ingredients. Cabbage was dry and discolored. Did not look appetizing and the honey mustard dressing was grossly over powered by mayonnaise. The following morning I stopped by the restaurant again for breakfast. There was only one staff person there and she was not a waitress. She asked whether I would like the continental breakfast or something from the menu. I said I would like order from the menu and sat down. That was the last time I saw anyone. This person walked behind a divider and I assume told someone I'd like to order from the menu. After 10 minutes I got up and got my own coffee from the continental breakfast table and sat down at my table again. Still no waitress showed after 15 minutes. As I sipped my coffee while two employees (maybe one of them a waitress) had a loud discussion behind the same divider that was easily heard throughout the empty restaurant using the F-BOMB constantly. It was easy now to understand why the restaurant was empty. I got up and left.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

For a night stay and it's close to ferry terminal.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Location.
Location: Close to ferry terminal.
A bit smelly when we first arrived the reception area. Air conditioning is noisy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Great location, friendly staff. Hotel could use some updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great centrally located hotel in Powell River.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Location, clean, quite with pet friendly rooms. Also very good value.
Cons: All good.
Location: Central to everything, shopping (all types). Good walk to the beach front.
Great overnight stay on our way to Desolation Sound. Clean, well appointed with friendly helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Nothing special with this hotel but close to city center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Rooms are old but clean

Posted Jul 29, 2016
At first we were a little disappointed. The hotel is old. But we got to appreciate it more. The room was very clean and we had a great night of sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coquitlam

for a good time, not a long time

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: The pub had good food and the waitress was very courteous and humorous. The front desk had great information on what pizza places to order from.
Cons: There should be enough chairs to accommodate all the persons staying in the room. There should be room service. The pillows were quite soft.
Location: The Royal Canadian Legion was close by and we ordered a Taxi, to and from the Hotel.
My husband and I went up to Powell River to pay our last respects to my Mother and Grandmother. My Mother was born in Powell River, in 1927, my Grandfather worked at the mill and my Grandmother raised four children. My Mom's brother, my uncle had joined the Canadian Navy when he was 15 years old and lived through D Day. He retired as a Commander in San Diego, California, after serving 37 years in the Canadian Navy. It was important to both of us to find the locations that were important to my family and to say goodbye. I booked a room with one queen size bed, as my husband and I needed to have a place to unwind and relax. We went to our room and started to unpack. After we unpacked and got settled in, we noticed that there was only one chair in the room. I called the front desk to request another chair to be put in the room so I could sit down with my husband. It took awhile, but the second chair did arrive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Easy to find, centerly located

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Staff was very friendly and helped us with suggesting places to eat. Rooms are fine, bathroom could use some updates (but we're fine for a 3*) Enjoyed the free continental breakfast Nice courtyard to sit in
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Close proximity to shopping and food. Staff are friendly. Hotel a little dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: Central to downtown
Cons: Better quality windows to dampen road noise
Location: On the sunshine coast with the ocean activities right there. Lots of hiking, canoeing, kayaking, fishing in salt and freshwater.
This is a small town but a pretty good hotel. Reception was great and the next morning I even got my breakfast in a box because I was leaving before the opening of the restaurant. Room was clean although road noise but a bit disturbing.