Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greater Manchester

Great hotel - Excellent food.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The extremely warm welcome. The old world feel of the building and fabulous grounds. The fabulous food.
Stayed one night when the hotel was full. The staff were very welcoming and helpful (although one female member of the management was rather brusque and took staff away from the task of serving guests at a very busy time). We had a lovely stay and will certainly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from lincs

most pleasant

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: the walks, river and the beautiful hotel itself.
Cons: none.
Location: lovely walks within the hotel grounds.
enjoed all aspect of it. friendly and accommodating staffs. fantastic grounds and location. restaurant service and fantastic food. cant ask for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mid wales surprise

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Gentle elegance.
Cons: All delightful.
Location: Great location for further exploration, or just stay on site and enjoy garden or local walks
A lovely surprise, pleasant all round stay enjoyed it immensely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonny from Oxford

Quiet country retreat close to Builth

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Warm welcome - amazing food - comfy bed (free upgrade to four poster!) - stunning grounds by the river - excellent value
Cons: Music in restaurant was tinny, poorly chosen and a distraction to the excellent cuisine on offer - but this is a minor point
Location: The hotel is set in its own 27 acres - so very nice walks there Plenty to do - hill walking - Builth Wells and Llandrindod very close as well
Warm welcome - amazing food - comfy bed (free upgrade to four poster!) - stunning grounds by the river - excellent value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jules from warwickshire

A wonderful break

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: food and staff
Cons: decor was a bit dated in our room
The food was wonderful both the breakfast and the evening meal. My husband and I had the £25 set 3 course evening menu which was wonderful. We also got an additional 2 'tasters' (watermelon soup which was spicy and refreshing and a cappuccino ice-cream before our dessert.) The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well, unusual for me in a hotel. I would definately recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Becks from England, UK

Great for long walks, nature, and snuggling

Posted Jan 23, 2013
Most WONDERFUL getaway in such a beautiful area. There was wonderful food and the grounds were just gorgeous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tigertim67 from tetbury

wonderful hotel

Posted May 31, 2012
Pros: walks by the river
Cons: strange decor
Location: beautiful location, so peaceful
lovely staff great character on our first evening food was superb grounds and surrounding area wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Grandparents from North Wales

A hidden gem

Posted Apr 16, 2011
Although out of the way this hotel has everything, an exquisite setting, historic building,friendly staff and an excellent restaurant all at a bargain price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sana'a, Republic of Yemen

Natural Beauty

Posted Aug 23, 2008
While the hotel sits on a beautiful piece of land with a river curving around it, I was most impressed with the staff who went out of their way to help me make appointments locally. I hope to have occasion to visit again.