Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Merthyr

Elizabethan style hotel in center of Montgomery

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Central, quiet, quirky hotel. Excellent full English breakfast.
Cons: Shower facilities
Location: Center of Montgomery with local castle. Powis castle and Welshpool nearby
Good, clean comfortable hotel for a short stay. Room had low ceilings but that goes with the character of the building. Room 6 had a bath with a tap attached hand shower which was difficult to use with the slanting low ceiling.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Dragon

Posted Oct 22, 2016
The food is great plenty to eat and the staff are very helpful and friendly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien

Herziges Landhotel im alten Stil

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Die Stufen knarzen und die Türstöcke sind niedrig. Fehlt eigentlich nur noch ein eigener Hausgeist und man fühlt sich heimelig im guten alten Wales. Das Hotel ist herzig und sehr ruhig am Land gelegen. Viel los ist nicht in dem Dörfchen, aber wir haben das Dragon Hotel auch als Ausgangspunkt diverser Exkursionen und Ausflüge ins Umland gewählt und nicht wegen dem glücklicherweise nicht vorhandenem "pulsierenden Nightlife" Die Angestellten sind alle sehr freundlich und nett - alles in allem ist man dort sehr gut aufgehoben und hat eine gute Basis für Ausflüge nach Mittelwales
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay apart from food and drink

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Old Inn, average condition, bit pricey for room comfort, but bar and restaurant fare = excellent. WiFi didn't work, no towels on arrival, not overly impressed but OK.
5 out of 5
by Brian from Wedmore

Would stay again

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very good
4 out of 5
by Michael from West Wales

Ideal rural retreat in quiet former county town.

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Initially disappointed to be put in an attic room with low ceiling height and intrusive wooden beams. Would not have stayed for the second night but reception moved us to a much better room without any quibble. Have stayed at The Dragon a few times in the past and will definitely go back in the future as the staff running it are very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Nice and Quirky but room(6) dissapointing.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Location and character both very good.
Cons: Room 6 should be either a single room or reserved for children in my opinion apart from the ceiling issue it was small.
Location: Great location for us as we used the hotel as a base to visit Powis Castle and Gardens to celebrate my wifes birthday.
I suppose you get what you pay for.This room was ok if you are less than four foot tall.We found the room very uncomfortable with the sloping ceilings over the bed and bathroom sanitary ware nearly impossible to use safely. So I would recommend using the hotel but steer well clear of room 6.Having said this the staff at the hotel were to a person all very good.The restaurant food quality was also very good.Chose this hotel for it:s location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norway

Nice hotel, great food, friendly staff

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Everything about the hotel is great, with only two negatives. The rooms can get very warm, and the corridor had a fire door at each end so it was to get air moving to cool it down. Breakfast was a little disorganised..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leyland, Lancashire

16th century coaching inn - full of character

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Quiet location in small town of Montgomery
Cons: Needs TLC but they're working on it!
Location: Nice area to visit, ruined castle just a walk away
Full of character. staff very friendly and good choice of evening meals in restaurant which was of excellent quality
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leics

Lovely old building

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: The staff really make it.
Cons: Watch the water-it is the hottest we have encountered.
Location: We comfortably drove to the coast and back and enjoyed watching the red kites feeding, There is a lovely National Trust castle near Oswestry.
We were delighted to discover this hotel. It is full of character and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Enjoyed two good nights sleep in a comfortable room and thoroughly enjoyed a filling breakfast. Wifi worked well and there is a swimming pool if you have the time.