Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anglesey

Character hotel in lovely area

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Character, spacious and friendly establishment
Cons: Low shower pressure but helpful notice in room warns you. Creaky floors, can be noisy if hotel busy
Location: Picture postcard border town
One night stay. All very good, from check-in through to breakfast and check-out. Spacious bar/lounge serving good food and a great selection of local ales. Nice sitting area outside at the back by car park, good for kids/families. Helpful staff. Room was clean and comfortable, floor creaky and some low ceilings but to be expected in an old building. Overall great value. Intend returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Little gem of a hotel.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, lovely clean comfortable room and wonderful food in Bistro 7. This hotel is a perfect base for looking around the area.
Location: Lovely little town of Montgomery. Lovely local castle behind the hotel which unfortunately was closed for renovation work while we were there.
Really enjoyed our stay at The Dragon. It was the second time we had stayed and we weren't disappointed. We had a lovely welcome at Reception and in the evening enjoyed a drink in the Lounge after a first class meal in Bistro 7. Can't wait to visit again and hope to do so in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from York, England

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Quiet, pleasant situation.
Location: Not far from Centre for Alternative Technology and Shrewsbury, both worth a visit.
Welcoming staff, good food, pleasant ambiance. Lovely Georgian small town.
2 out of 5
by Sandeep

Noisy hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Good location, very small rooms, very noisy
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017
Hello there. Thank you for your comments. We do get busy on Friday and Saturday nights, especially being summer but we close the bar at midnight to reduce any further possible noise. Kind regards Stuart
5 out of 5
by Susan

Excellent stay at the Dragon

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay in a lovely old hotel. Staff were very accommodating. We had a room on the top floor and whilst the stairs up to it were a little daunting, steep and warren like corridors, it was a lovely room, with a very comfy bed with crisp clean bedding. The bathroom likewise was spotless. They have a nicely stocked bar, the 'Flagon' cider was excellent. Had a very filling cooked breakfast to help ourselves to. Everything we could want. It is in an idyllic setting, Montgomery is a beautiful village. The walk up the hill behind the hotel up to the castle is worthwhile, wonderful panoramic views. The church across the square from the hotel is to be prized, obviously a well loved church. The 16thC Old Bell Museum on Arthur Street is close by and well worth a visit. So much to see in a delightful village, and the Dragon is an excellent hotel to stay in. Would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great hotel

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: This place was slightly outdated, but it had character and we all slept comfortably.
Cons: Some dust on the lampshades but not a real issue.
Location: We stopped here before travelling on to zip world and doing the amazing, longest, fastest, zip line over the quarry.
Good service, nice room, comfortable atmosphere, kind staff, great breakfast--can't fault this hotel.
5 out of 5
by ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel if you like historic buildings

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: atmosphere and sense of history.
Cons: decoration of main entrance
Location: Off the main highway.Castle and museums to view along with 4star restaurant.
only spent one night but will return again and certainly recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Lovely traditional hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
This is a delightful place to stay. Its quite an old hotel so creaky floorboards and so on but it exudes atmosphere, the location is outstanding, right in the heart of rural mid wales, superb views and so on. The food was really good. The restaurant was being refurbed when I was there which they apologised for but there was no need I had two really good evening meals and excellent breakfast. Staff couldn't have been more attentive and helpful. Room was a little bit on the small side compared to say an average Premier Inn but that was ok, nice big bathroom. I was there for work but it would have been a great place just to get away from it all for a while. I would certainly go back there next time I am in the area. The wifi wasn't great which is essential for my job so I had to use mobile data but other than that everything was fine. Good selection of beers for those who like a pint. Given the choice I would stay here before a more modern chain hotel any day of the week. You sometimes are taking a risk with independents but not with this one.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Stunning historical hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
After a small mix up with my reservation it was soon sorted and I was booked in. The room had been newly refurbished and was of a great standard. Due to the hotel being so old there are a lot of creeky floor boards and noisy water system. (This did not detract from my stay but you may want to consider it if you're expecting a totally quiet stay!) Staff are friendly and efficient. Dinner of Bistro Burger and Warm Chocolate pudding was exceptional! Will Defiantly stay again.