Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Breakfast could not fault. Service and friendly atmosphere excellent. Sleeping was very good as no paper thin walls, proper bed and quiet.
Cons: My only fault that we could find and then you would have to look hard was a few cobwebs.
Location: Very good location for surrounding and free parking at rear.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Excellent!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: It is near the Royal Welsh Showground at Builth Wells.
My satnav took me direct to the Horseshoe where there was good parking. It is in the centre of Rhayader, so easy to access local facilities. The host, Paul, was very helpful, friendly and polite. My single room was a good size with nice old pine furniture. I hadn't realised when I booked the room that the 'private bathroom' was a shared facility, but it was adjacent to my room. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and served in a lovely dining room. I stayed for two nights at the Horseshoe, and would have stayed longer if I'd been able to. Thank you Paul for a great stay.
5 out of 5
by Scott from Canton, CT USA

A very pleasant place to stay

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
A very peaceful night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Very pleasant and friendly

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: Friendly service and good food.
Location: As above
We had a very warm welcome from Paul who gave us a lot of information about the area. Although we were only there for a night we had recommendations for the best place for dinner and local sites. An excellent breakfast was served in the dining room. We visited the Elan dam area and toured the dams, we also visited the Red Kite centre at Gigrin farm and another feeding station further south near Brecon.
4 out of 5
by Sarah from Cardiff

Cosy but cold

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely little guest house, only scored down because my room was very cold and there was no (active) wifi connection
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midlands

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: Lovely breakfast. Pleasant, helpful owners and staff
Cons: Lighting. Very gloomy in bedroom. Not sufficient to read by. Not helped by wicker lampshades. Gloomy in sitting room, too.
Location: Central for touring lakes, etc.
Weekend break Clicked for good weather so saw autumn colours at their best.
4 out of 5
by janet from Lancashire

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
To me it's the best b&b in the area. Only minor complaints not enough tea and coffee in room, the mattress on bed to firm everything else in room is good quality but cheap mattress!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Freindly family run guest house.

Posted Sep 30, 2015
A good position in the town with private parking and plenty of places to eat out in easy walking distance. A friendly welcome, comfortable room and hearty breakfast.
5 out of 5
by beverly from Maesteg

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Went for a weekend break mountain biking, safe storage was provided free of charge. No problems with coming back all muddy!! Eating places recommended by Paul were amazing, all fresh produce locally sourced. Fab weekend!!
4 out of 5
by Doug from Medford, Oregon

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed the lovely hike to the dam and the lakes. Town was charming and we thoroughly enjoyed the pubs and the people. Our host, Paul was wonderful.