Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cudham

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Only used to sleep and shower, was friendly and clean. A good Base for what we wanted to do.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price for Cannes

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel's reasonable price reflects it's position in being out of the city centre, but is only a short bus ride away. A lovely old house that has been made into a hotel. Very pleasant, helpful owners. They do charge quite a lot to park your car within the gated grounds, unfortunately. You could park on the street but when I was there, there was no room anywhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LONDON

a truly dreadful place

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: the rooms are well appointed and have all the essentials mostly in good order
Cons: the Reception, of course, and the surly mood of the propriertor
Location: the worst thing about this place is its location - the information on the website is extremely misleading when it comes to distances - avoid!
this is more a two-star "pension" or B&B than a three-star hotel - it is a long way from the centre of Cannes, a good 30-40 minute walk, downhill going, uphill coming back; there is a miserable breakfast for which you are charged 12 Euros and it comes with almost no service; there is no Reception for most of the day and the whole place is locked up so you have to use a special code to get in and out; and at the price it would hardly be a backpacker's choice either
3 out of 5
by Nikolaus from Switzerland

Good price in Cannes

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
Extremely small rooms. Clean and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from basildon

ok as a base

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: nice staff
nice private hotel in middle of city not within walking distance of seafront
3 out of 5
by Gerald from Turlock, Ca

Small cozy hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
Finding the entrance to hotel was difficult. You have to call from call box at gate to get to the hotel. Parking is secure and behind the gate. Room and bed was smaller than expected. But this was the fault of hotel.com (their web sight was wrong), not the hotels. Walls are thin and you could hear your neighbors talking or dogs barking. The owner would have given us a bigger room for the same price, but he was full. It is a good hotel, if you have a car, for there is only one restaurant available and it is about a 10 minute walk. Hotel owner friendly and went out of his way to be helpful, even carried the luggage in and out to the car. Stayed there 3 nights and would stay again if in the area, but as I stated already you do need a car. We did walk into Cannes, but it is about 2 miles and hilly.
1 out of 5
by US traveller from US

Not a pleasant stay.

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
Due to train delays, and inability to get a taxi for almost 45 minutes, at the train station, we arrived late at the hotel. Aside from one email communication to the hotel to let them know we were going to be late, we had no more wi-fi service, nor a mobile phone access. So seeing that we had informed that we were coming there for sure, the reception was unwelcome, almost rude, as he said he had to wake up at 6, and did not appreciate being woken up to let us in at 11 pm. I apologized for the delay, but no apology from the hotel receptionist. The shower stall is a 2x2 box, barely unable to turn around - like being in a strait jacket. Anyone over 100 lbs will have to enter sideways and hold on to the door to get out of it, if you hit the tap accidentally, you could have a hot blast. Not a pleasant stay. Taxi cost €15 (with sharing) and 3 pcs of luggage. Bus service down the Street. Would never stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Christine from Canada

Very nice and friendly.

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels
Love the hotel but far from the center of the city, lots of walking there the bus but on the 1st of May no bus. Good if you have a car and it is very safe. Very good breakfast and the hotel is very attractive and quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels
Was under some construction and rating may not be fair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe from London

Affordable accommodation in Cannes

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: Dog. Comfortable bed. Great service. Car parking is very handy.
Cons: No view.
Location: Not in the centre of town but close to shops and beach.
Room was clean with ample towels and free bottled water provided free of charge. Bed was large and very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful with arrival and at breakfast service. Food was good and having space to park a car was helpful though cost 7 euros overnight. Hotel is well located from central Cannes- a gentle 20 minute walk. It is mentioned on the hotel website but just as another reminder the hotel has a very large dog. Fine for us though not for those who don't like dogs I suppose. Rooms were a little small but well finished. Would certainly visit again and for a longer stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Eddy, Hotel Management
Hello Joe, thank you for your message. We're a happy to read you enjoyed your stay at the Oxford Hotel. Hope we'll see you again ! Best regards Eddy