Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Khabarovsk

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Good for tranzit. recomend for singles Good location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy to get to the city centre

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
The breakfast was good, although no fruit or vegetables at all. The triple room was big but old, with a TV and WiFi connection. No AC, so it might get warm in summer. There were only two sockets in the whole room: for the TV and another one for a lamp, so you´ll have to unplug them to charge your phone or camera. The common areas have been renovated but the rooms need to be refurbished. If your room faces the busy street, you´l hear every car, bus and tram as the wooden windows are not made to block the noise. The staff spoke English and were friendly. The bus stop is literally in fron of the hotel door. The tram stop is 30 seconds away. Prague has a fantastic public transport system. Your can buy your tickets from an automatic machine. There is also an ATM next to the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap dump

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: I slept fairly well 2 of seven nights.
Cons: Everything
Location: Nothing
Not my kind of place. Everything cheap or threadbare. Chairs in room were very dirty and worn out. I had to put the comforter on them. Also, suprisingly uncomfortable. Apparently I got the only large matress in the hotel which, of course, could not be matched with a full sized sheet. I got by sleeping with the bedspread or nothing. It was very hot for Prague and there was no A/C...Not even a fan to be had. Quirky place across the street from the tram so one can escape the area which has very little to offer. Get a room in the back where you can trade constant street noise for occassional all night people noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from prague

Clean hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Location,cleanliness
Cons: A bit more variety of breakfast
Location: Ideal location only 10mins to the centre by tram , keep away from the food stalls in the old town square they are a complete rip off
Clean hotel, breakfast very limited but tram stop right outside hotel that takes you into centre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Short stay in Prague

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: The staff was great - they even packed sandwiches for us on our last day since we were leaving early. Close to bus/tram stop.
Cons: Wi-Fi was spotty and slow. Furniture is a little dated
We stayed at the Kavalir for 3 nights and were very pleased with our experience. The staff was great, beds were comfortable and we liked the breakfast buffet which was included. Overall a great bargain, bus stop was right in front the hotel door and only about 15 min from the center. If you are not specifically looking for a luxurious experience this hotel is definitely a good choice.
4 out of 5
by Mir Bagher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good for short stay

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: I loved the old fashioned hospitality, politeness and friendliness, which was a joy to behold compared to the rudeness of the old town and city centre
Cons: nothing it does what it can within its capabilities.
Location: The location is without a doubt quite run down but I dont think this should detract from the positives which is undoubtedly the transport on the doors
The Hotel Kavalir is wonderfully old fashioned and has some very interesting art deco features. Despite the fact it is in quite a shabby area there is a bus stop and tram stops right outside the hotel and within 10/15 minutes you can be in a quite vibrant area the tram stop of which is Andel. It has a shopping mall and there is a small market on Fridays which is interesting but there are some good small individual restaurants where local eat so you won't get ripped off. Recommend to buy a 24 hour pass which is very reasonable. Transport is excellent. Roads can be very dangerous to cross and the system is somewhat haphazard zebra crossing rules are not always obeyed. Architecture is just beautiful I found something of interest in every area visited. Like most capital cities in tourist areas you will pay considerably more than you would in a local area. Czech "hospitality" staff in cafes, shops, sandwich bars are very unfriendly. They don't welcome tourists. The worst service for this was Municipal House and Mystak Gallery which houses a very famous Czech "sweet" cafe with wonderful art deco features. I had to ask "are you open" as waiter and waitress continued a conversation and completely ignored us. I am glad it was only a short stay I got fed up with the surly manner of the people. The city itself beautiful and a wonderful two and half hour city tour with Martins coaches well worth going on excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable hotel for business trip

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Cons: Tea and coffee facilities in the room would be an improvement - and a better quality of coffee at breakfast.
Location: Residential location, with a good and friendly restaurant very close by, suggested by hotel staff.
This hotel is modest, very clean, bed and pillows very comfortable, with affable staff. Good shower and wifi connection. Breakfast is fine, but coffee is very poor. Within 15 minutes by tram you are in the historic centre of Prague, which is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by sags149

Good Hotel. Location is nice

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Orbitz
A little bit far from old town but bus and tram stations are at 0 metres away which is good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Doo Shine

Very cheap hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Ebookers
This hotel is great for people who do not spend lots of time in hotel room.