Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

This is not a 3 star hotel, it is a hostel!

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Close to the bus and train station, but still far from down town.
Cons: They hotel needs a MAJOR make over. Very disappointed as it has so much potential.
This hotel should not be advertised as a three star hotel as it felt more like a hostel. We stayed there for two nights and our bedroom did not get cleaned during our stay. The hotel did not offer shampoo or a hair drier. The pillows I am sure were older than 10 years old. They adverstise that they have free parking, but is actually street parking that they are referring to. Breakfast is nothing special and it does not start until 8am, so if you want to get an early start you are out of luck. The fruit that they had on a bowl was all old and some of the apples were rotten. After breakfast they ask you to put your dishes away on the dirty dish table....I am surprised they didn't ask us to wash our dishes !!! Spend the extra money and stay at a nicer hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for price.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Comfy bed. Staff were very helpful. Clean shower room.
Cons: Better choice on the tv if you like to watch when you come back to your room. Coffee/tea making facility in room. More cupboard space in room.
Location: Near tram stop. Small shops. But not really walking distance into the centre.
The Otakar is a basic hotel. The tram stops are very convenient as it is a good walk into the centre. The hotel was basic but very clean and worth the money. If you like to watch tv when you go to bed then you need other languages. The breakfast was good with a reasonable choice. Staff were helpful. Overall if you add the price to what you get you cannot complain.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Adequate hotel right by tram lines.

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Requested double bed nine months in advance. Got a tiny room worthy of a cruise line berth with two single beds. Many, many young people--reminded us of a hostel. Staff were very helpful. Tram transit to all the attractions was very convenient and nearby. We recommend the all-day tram ticket--only a bit more than two one-way tickets. Note: tram lines on front and side of hotel and rail lines behind. Moderate noise level.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hotel is Ok for this price

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Cons: Wi-fi connection, more knowledgeable staff, carpeting, kettle or coffee-maker in the room.
Location: Just walk around and to the center is a nice walk excluding road construction.
The location of hotel is terrible if you come by plane. Extremely long and inconvenient way to hotel. I stayed before in Prague 9 which was much cheaper but it was more convenient to come from the airport because it was close to subway. The room is OK but the carpeting has huge stains as well as the arm chairs. The room was clean. There is no refrigerator or kettle or coffee maker. There is no office exchange in the neighbourhood either. The staff could not advice me how to make TV working ( the TV cable for some strange reason was not connected and I had to play for more than one hour with the settings to make it work. The staff did not know how to go to the airport or where the stop of public transport. Breakfast was OK although the previous hotel for which I paid only 27 euro had a better breakfast. The neighbourhood is good , you just walk around to see beautiful buildings but from one side it was terrible to walk because they have construction. The Internet connection was terrible. It took me more than one hour to connect, after which it was disconnected in 10 minutes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dirty

Posted Aug 4, 2015
The hotel was very dirty. Breakfast was terrible. No Wi-Fi in the room. I definetly dont advice anybody.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A good old-style hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: I found it welcoming, comfortable and friendly.
Cons: it is a bit far from the city centre for people who don't want to walk too far or take public transport but the hotel can't be blamed for that.
Location: There is a nice walking area in the opposite direction to the city centre and also a good second hand bookshop not far from the hotel.
This is a hotel in the old style - it's almost like a smaller, more modest version of the Grand Budapest Hotel to look at. Service, facilities and food are all good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Nice Hotel close the city centre

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Silence and quiet place even if close the city centre
Cons: Breakfast
Nice. I did not have any particular problem. The staff was kind and the hotel is closed to tram stations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2015
Small baths. Could of give up smoking at the Reception area. Not everybody likes that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far from everything

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Nothing around, too far from downtown I paid a taxi driver 600 of their money to get back
The hotel is not very nice, there is too much traffic noise and I couldn't open the window. The elevator is the worst part. It is like a nightmare it is super slow and I felt unsafe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Good value, nice location

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Value, location, breakfast
Cons: Its ok
Location: Good pizzas and restaraunts nearby
Good value for money, location is ok, but car parking may be occupied all the time.