Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Derby, UK

Good recommended hotel.

Posted Jun 11, 2012
Pool was lovely, but closed without notice to classes and things. Access was no problem, 7 minutes walk to/from tram stop, and Prague public transport is great. Room was adequate and clean, bed was comfortable. Staff were helpful, food was good. Breakfast could go on till later for those that like to sleep in, but there was still plenty left at 10am. Rooms and area extremely quiet which is great for relaxing. Would recommend the hotel, price is reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2012 on Hotels
No air conditioning and room got very warm. Otherwise very large suite.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany,HH

no spa

Posted Mar 1, 2012 on Hotels
the spa was not " working " !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Great rooms - Strange Hotel - Stranger location

Posted Nov 9, 2011
They have clearly been renovating this old Soviet looking hotel from the inside out. The rooms are first class - immaculately appointed, large, clean - could hardly be faulted. The ghost like feel of the public spaces is reflected in many of the dour staff. The exterior of the hotel looks imposing but falling to bits - seen better days i think. The hotel is in a spooky residential neighbourhood a long way from the historic centre of Prague, especially if you plan to catch public transport. It is a fifteen minute walk down a steep climb to the tram stop. The fastest way to town is then alight the tram and catch the metro from the end of the line station. This hotel certainly offers good value and is very comfortable. But it is not convenient. Best left for the tour bus set I think.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

quality at a lower price

Posted Aug 13, 2011 on Hotels
I chose the Hotel Praha strictly because of the price and when I checked in I was thoroughly amazed at how beautiful the hotel was. Rooms were very spacious and the staff was there to answer any and all questions. The Hotel is less than a kilometer away from the old square which is exactly what I was looking for, bravo Hotel Praha Bravo!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dublin

Hotel Praha... not bad but stuck in a time warp!!

Posted Jul 24, 2011 on Hotels
Stayed here recently for our first trip to Prague. The hotel is miles away from all the usual sites but reception was very helpful when ordering the free shuttle service to the nearest Metro station (20 min walk) or the Castle (40 min walk). The hotel itself was clean. Breakfast was very basic and self serving, I'd recommend getting there before 9am to get the freshest food. The swimming pool was very clean but seemed to be always in use for a private session when we tried using it. The hotel gardens are beautiful but overgrown in places, the tennis courts wouldn't look out of place in a wildlife documentary. The hotels extra costs are extremely high especially the mini bar, we just stocked up with supplies from the local mini-mart. Overall the hotel is ideal for a short stay though isolated from the rest of the city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Offenbach am Main

The view

Posted May 18, 2011 on Hotels
The rooms are enormous and very well-designed. The view is spectacular! We spent one whole evening sitting on the terrace enjoying Prague from the distance. Don’t forget to use the free shuttle service (Metro or Castle).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poland

Quiet, beautiful views, nice rooms!

Posted Jan 4, 2011 on Hotels
We stayed at Hotel Praha for 2 nights just after Christmas (2010). We booked at Hotel Praha because they accept dogs and have easy access to parking (free). We knew it would be a hike from the main tourist areas and that proved to be very true however, the quietness of the location makes up for being out of the main area. - Reception was very helpful and friendly. Check-in was quick. Check-out answered all of our questions about the bill with no impatience and we felt good about everything at the end. - Hot/cold buffet breakfast was free and well done except that we would have liked to see more fresh fruit. - Room was huge (our dog loved running around), up to date, modern, very simply but decently decorated, and had a great balcony with a wonderful view of the castle. We had a King bed which was really 2 mattresses put together in 1 frame but it was quite comfortable. One thing we didn't like was that they don't use a top sheet (being from Canada this is unusual) and they use 2 separate duvets - but this is typical in Eastern Europe so it's not really a complaint about the hotel itself. - The bathroom was fantastic with the toilet in a separate room. The bathtub was great for soaking away the day's sightseeing grime and the shower head was nice with great water pressure. I would only suggest that they add some type of ambient lighting for having a bath as it's kind of all or nothing at the moment. - There is a mini-bar so you can put a few of your own things in the fridge. - They have TV with channels in different languages but the only ones in english were News which was kind of a drag but not a deal breaker. - The restaurant serves good food but it is expensive. There are a couple of restaurants along Europska but that is at least a 20-min walk away. They also have room service but beware the 150czk charge for using the service. - The hotel offers some Spa services although we did not avail ourselves, and they have a pool and small fitness room. I would not have used the fitness room as it felt like it was 30C and had no windows and we didn't check out the pool so I don't know how good that is. Overall the hotel is an excellent choice if you like to walk and don't want to be surrounded by the rest of the thousands of tourists. They actually offer a shuttle that will take you to the Metro or to the castle so that helps a lot. We took the shuttle to the Metro and then the Metro to the Old Town and then made our way back on foot. I think from the castle it was about 40 minutes (but bear in mind that the sidewalks were slippery and we didn't walk as fast as normal). It was really quiet and peaceful there and I would highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel Praha - lovely views of Prague

Posted Dec 10, 2010 on Hotels
We picked the Hotel Praha because of the reviews and the appealing hotel rates. We were aware of the hotel location although the first time we walked to the nearest metro station we were a little taken back by how far it was but this mainly due to the sheer coldness of visiting in December and not knowing our surroundings. After a few times it became a 10-15 minute walk and the walk was fine through a pleasant residential area. We were amazed by the size of the hotel as well as the rooms which were very clean and the view of Prague and the castle really topped off the room. Staff were very helpful, the hotel was clean and the food at the hotel although slightly expensive was very nice. The hotel is in a very quiet area therefore I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone looking for hustle and bustle whilst in Prague but I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone that enjoys the busyness of a city but then wants to come away and relax at the end of the day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2010 on Hotels
If you don't mind walking a bit to get to transit, this is a great place to stay. The beautiful surroundings make it well worth the effort.