Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Amanda

A Prague hidden gem

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this great little hotel. Its in the perfect area, by the steps leading up to the castle, surrounding by good little bars and restaurants - including one in the hotel itself. Our room was much larger than we expected and in fact we had a second bedroom at the back of the building, which was fab. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was first-rate - a wide range of tasty treats! We enjoyed being able to throw open our windows and watch the world go by. There is no lift but I think this is common in Prague buildings of this age. We would thoroughly recommend this little gem!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall UK

Red Lion Prague

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: lovely staff, lovely rooms, brilliant location
Cons: install a lift and include an on-site reception.
Location: walled city with castle and museums. Chocolate café. Major tourist area so lots of interesting shops and cafes.
More like B&B than a hotel, as it no longer has a reception - that is '60 m up the road' in a different hotel. This means that certain facilities are missing. Lovely location and a very nice old burgher's house. Problem was the stairs - we were on the top floor, which meant 4 flights of stairs whenever we wanted to go in or out of our room, which got increasingly wearing, especially as we were there for 7 nights. Brilliant views, nice and quiet, and very nice upgrade so we had a suite rather than a single room. But it was in the attic and did not have the charm of rooms lower down. No public transport on the road, so a long climb up and down the hill to go into town or access public transport. Then the long climb up the stairs...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

great

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: area
Cons: nothing
Location: 4 major things near by
We found that we were near to four spots that we wanted to visit. The staff spoke english and were very hellpful. We could walk downtown and the tram was downhill and a few minutes away. We got 1st floor room that was very nice and the breakfast buffet was more than 1st class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful

Posted Dec 7, 2016
A lovely hotel situated very close to the Castle. Hotel staff were lovely and welcoming and they also try to upgrade your room wherever possible and without request. The only confusing thing is to check in and out you have to go to the reception of another hotel The Golden Star up the hill as The Red Lion does not have it's own reception. I was given the deluxe suite on the top floor which were lovely and it was all very quiet and peaceful. The walk into town was nice, 15mins to Charles Bridge and about 30mins to Wenceslas Square. Public transport is all very close by too. I would highly recommend The Red Lion.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean , warm , comfy beds recommended

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
this hotel is unique in its history and historic qualities , nice area close to castle and stahrov monastery , there is 2 great brewery bars one opposite the monastery and one on the footpath to the eiffel tower in petrin park - dont miss these great food and beer.
3 out of 5
by Petra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, TX

Really a fantastic place!

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Everthing
Cons: No
Location: The location was great, just steps away from the castle, and a short walk to the Charles Bridge. My only caution, is the castle closes at 4:00pm.
My wife and I loved the room. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast very good. When you look up from the bead you see the old wooden beams and these fantastic old painted ceiling tiles. The location was great, just steps away from the castle, and a short walk to the Charles Bridge. Michael and the rest of the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Really for the price and atmosphere I do not think it can be beat.
4 out of 5
by Antonin from Prague, Czech Republic

Great Exoeriance even for someone born in Prague

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
It's a wonderfully located Residence Hitel by AVE Hotels. Does not give you the same style of a service as a normal hotel do since it is placed in a very old, but beautifully renovated old residence house, rather than purposefully built hotel. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. However price in the summer was great for the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent location. Well maintained old building

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The wooden frames around the beds were hard and bruising on the knees.
Finding the place was a little difficult because the map feature of mobile app took us to slightly the wrong address. Searching Google Maps directly found the correct location that we walked right past. Check-in and check-out desk is in a different hotel.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Port Coquitlam

One of the best places that I have stayed.

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
Although I was alone all they had was a 3 bed suite which they did not charge extra for. Beautiful room, very clean, quiet, I really enjoyed the painted ceilings. Bed was comfortable, room was dark at night with curtains closed which is what I prefer. Staff was outstanding, very decent. I wish that I had found it earlier.