Ratings based on 1,299 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valencia, Spain

One word will do- fabulous!

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The comfortable large room and comfortable bed.
Location: You are in the middle of the old town. It is wonderful to just walk around and enjoy.
It is right in the center of Prague close to everything you want to see. The room was large and very comfortable. We loved staying there and loved our time in Prague.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: The room was very clean
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right downtown close to the astronomical clock and charles bridge.
The staff was great. The location is a great, just one minute walk to the downtown square. The room was beautiful with decorated ceilings and large bathrooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: location.service and the building itself
Cons: Can not think of anything now
Location: too much to count.
Perfect location sit just at the heart of the old town. Staffs are friendly. The room is cosy. very very clean. love this old building with super high ceiling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter, UK

Best friendly hotel in Prague!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: We loved the location, facilities, staff, reasonably priced mini bar and the buffet breakfast.
Cons: A bar would be a great addition. My husband and I are both vegetarians and would welcome more veggie options on the evening menu.
Location: The location was perfect, close to the Old Town Square and surrounding shops. The vegetarian cafe opposite is amazing, definitely 10/10!
The hotel itself is an amazing building in it's own right, so much character and history. Our suite was fantastic, great size, facilities and a place we would love to return to. The staff were very friendly and helpful at every level from the housekeeping to reception staff. Jakub, Lenka and Patrik, just to name a few. My husband was unfortunate enough to be taken seriously ill and the hotel helped me in everyway they could and made a very difficult time a lot easier. We are hoping to return to the same suite later on this year, once my husband has recovered.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Not as nice as one would expect

Posted Mar 14, 2017
On the paper, it looks great. Turns out it's a cheap version of a classy 5-stars hotel. The bathroom ceiling paint was peeling off, the air conditioning was noisy, and the staff was just nice enough. We still had a nice stay, but I'm pretty sure one could find a better place for the same price.
5 out of 5
by Elinor

Winter Stay

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, especially at reception. Were kindly upgraded to a junior suite which was really nice. Breakfast was included and was excellent, a really good choice of foods, freshly cooked and good quality. Rooms were always warm and cosy, important when you visit in winter. Only comment would be that the room was quite dark, especially in the entry way. You couldn't see what was in your wardrobe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel right in the middle of Prague

Posted Jan 10, 2017
We had a lovely stay at this wonderful hotel. From the time you walked into the door until you left, you were encaptured by the beauty and charm of this old hotel. The hotel staff were very helpful and spoke English well and the breakfast in the morning was great. The rooms were so charming with the wood floors, antique bed frames, beautiful updated bathrooms and even handpainted wood beams in the room our daughers stayed in. We had a wonderful stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in a lovely location

Posted Dec 31, 2016
In a building that dates back to the 1400s, this hotel delivers. The rooms are perfectly spacious, with a place to sit and relax, if you wish, and a nice big bathroom. We had two rooms between us and couldn't fault the cleanliness in either; the staff were round every to tidy the rooms and spared no efforts on the rest of the building. The bar/restaurant, 'Deer', serves lovely, traditional food but are lacking in draught beers; as it's only been open a couple of weeks, I wonder if changes are yet to be made but despite this, it's a lovely place to sit and relax at any time in the day. The breakfast, served in the basement floor, offers a decent selection of cereals, fruits, breads, pastries, and just enough for a small hot breakfast. All staff, including the night staff, were generally very friendly and happy to help with any queries. The décor is what makes his hotel, for me. It's has a very traditional feel to it, throughout the ground floor and has even tried to extend that into the newer parts of the building. As it's only a 30 second walk from the 'Old Town Square', Iron Gate is in a brilliant location but is also far enough away to keep clear of all the foot traffic and noise. All in all, we would highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to return if we found ourselves back in Prague in the future
5 out of 5
by Sneh Kumar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gakveston, TX, USA

Comfortable Old Town Lodging

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Located just minutes away from Old Town Square, this was an excellent choice for our Christmas stay. We were within walking distance of the Christmas markets, histiric churches, Charles Bridge, Astronomical Clock, the Klemintinum, and shopping. Hotel staff was cordial and most helpful. Breakfast was included in our stay and it was great. Don't miss this quaint beauty nestled in downtown Prague.