Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good food, nice view

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Stayed for a few days here during a tour of Italy. The hotel is situated in a nice location along the Amalfi coast. However like almost all places along the coast, it is difficult to get to if you don't know what you are doing. The room was relatively clean when we arrived however the "sea view" from our room wasn't quite what we expected. In front of our balcony (which was quite nice) was a view of a garden of lemon trees. The washrooms also were a bit cramped. However the hotel staff were very nice and quite helpful for tourists and travellers. We were given a three course meal at the hotel restaurant for a discounted price when compared to the menu prices. The food was quite good and well worth taking advantage of. The beach is accessible from the hotel however it is quite a long and treacherous journey down (and then up!) about 150+ steps! This is something which is normal on the coast as you are literally placed along the side of a cliff. As such most beaches are accessible via a long set of stairs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay somewhere else

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Review continued not the hotels fb page, character limit on hotels.com Where do I start? Well maybe with the view and wow what a view it is! Well thats all the positives listed. Now for the negatives. Let's just say they are very energy efficient, the whole hall way had all but one light working maybe if they just changed the lamps that would resolve that problem, the same went for the room only 1 out of the 3 lamps worked in the main room and every day we showered in the dark because the only lighting was 2 small mirror lights. That didn't quite shine bright enough to cheap shower curtain. The breakfast that is complimentary was at most, adequate. As I walked along the self help breakfast buffet glancing at 2 basic deli meats some cheese that was sliced so thin it was transparent and could have been used as a stained glass window, well at least that could have let some light in our room. There was also some yogurts that where in date, but warm. I did see a mound of icing sugar and on further inspection there was buried underneath what appeared to be croissants. I chose these over and the stale cereal with warm milk and risked the imminent onset of diabetes. To my surprise they managed to ruin my diabetic danish by filling it with more sugar in the form of apricot jam CONTINUED ON FB
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great little family run hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Cons: Refrigerator in room wuld be good
Location: Midway between Positano and Amalfi and a short ride to Sorrento.
Third time staying there. Good restaurant . Friendly staff. Close to transport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice views

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Nice views. Cute tiny town. Owner was friendly. Not much to do but if you are looking to chill, this is a good place for it. Neighboring towns are more active.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay with magnificent view

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Most incredible sunset view! Staff was so friendly and accommodating! Beautiful place!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the Positano Coast

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Excellent view but antiquated amenities Towels are like napkins and only internet on the lobby
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with a View

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Very nice location with excellent view. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit out dated with poor hair dryer and weak bathroom ventilation. Food is good and overall a decent B&B.
3 out of 5
by Rachelle from West Palm Beach

O.K. for the money but lacking in a few areas!

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Visited here with family and wanted a room 'with a view' which we did get! Location is great with a fabulous beach bar, One Fire, and another half way down, called Cafe Mirante. Both were highlights of the trip! WiFi was non existent in rooms and only available in upstairs restaurant. TV had only three terrible channels. The owner kicked us out of the restaurant at midnight because he was closing up, which sucked as we still wanted to check our emails. There was no other comfortable place to sit while doing this and no comfortable place to hang out either if you just wanted to relax at hotel. The public area was a bit run down and nobody went there which is a pity because it's overlooking a glorious view. There was no wifi there either. This hotel was O.K for the money and ability to have three in a room which is hard to find at at decent price in this area. Praiano is a great location. Owners seemed a bit tired and stressed as well. Restaurant was only O.K. There's a better choice across the street at La Strada, which is wonderful! Hotel was clean and rooms were fine. There was parking available which was good, although down the street. I'd give this hotel a 6 out of 10.
4 out of 5
by Alise from y

Relaxing and Beautiful Praiano

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our time at Hotel Smeraldo. We went on our honeymoon and it was a nice relaxing place to enjoy the scenery and some nice local spots. The hotel itself is quiet and the surrounding area is charming. The woman at the front desk (who seemed to do everything, and do it well, was helpful with arranging taxis for us to local places as well as trips to nearby ravello for the evening). The view from the restaurant is gorgeous and should not be missed (food was good, too)!