Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by XING from China

Don't choose his hotel as the tourist

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is the worst one that we stayed in Switzeland. it's a industry region. The parking fee is 54 CHE per day. it's creay. the receiption said give me a half price because I came to the hotel very late. but actually it is only 4 CHE discount. it's nothing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Xing, I am very sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your stay with us to the fullest. As we are always striving for excellence your feedback helps us to improve our service and I would like to thank you for your honesty. The parking lot is unfortunately not a hotel own one. That’s why we are very happy, to offer you as a valued Hotel guest a reduction of 50% to the regular rate of CHF 48 / 24 h. Thank you for being a valued guest and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels brings you back to Basel. B. Abicht Courtyard by Marriott Basel
4 out of 5
by Dan from Pacifica

Great place to stay with children

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Spacious room and located away from the busy center of Basel. A short train ride gets you quickly in and out of downtown. The hotel is attached to a water amusement park which was very fun for my two young children.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2016 by Lars Lubrich, Hotel Management
Dear Dan Thank you for sharing your recent stay in our property. It is great to hear you have enjoyed your time with us and your childrens the "AQUABASILEA". We hope that you and your Family visit us again in the near future. Kind regards, L. Lubrich Courtyard by Marriott Hotel Basel
4 out of 5
by Aidan from UK

Great service

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
I never write these and the last thing I thought I would do would be to compliment a chain like Marriott. However. The staff at the Basel Courtyard went the extra mile for me several times when they could have easily said "sorry, that's not included" or "the kitchen is now closed". It felt genuine and was very much appreciated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WiFi in the room & Front desk phone answering skil

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Room
Cons: See above
Location: Find another hotel
I cannot believe that I could not get wifi in my room and anytime I wanted to email surf or skype call I had to go down to the lobby. I live in US and was traveling for a week and picked Marriott to be a loyal guest even though it cost me Euro150 everyday to go back and forth to work. All that was fine but sitting in the lobby in the middle of the night so I can speak with wife is completely unacceptable. What was worst was after several complains to the staff, there was no action for my entire stay. Never had such a bad experience from a Marriott before, hence my desire to complain. The other problem was about the front desk staff who never seemed interested in answering the phone calls. My wife would try for ever and give up trying to reach me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Nice hotel but far away from Basel, this wouldn't be a problem if it were located in an area were you can walk or have dinner but it's not! Area it's horrible Reception desk has only one person on duty
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2015 by Courtyard by Marriott Hotel Basel, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing our property and share your feedback with us. Unfortunately, we didn't meet you expectations with the area where we are. Please be sure that the area around our hotel a very safe. We have a lot of famous companies and also a nice city centre of Pratteln near to us. A lot of our guests appreciate also to receive the motorway in a few minutes what brings you on the fastest way to Basel our into direction to the nicest places in switzerland. We hope to you welcome again in our property whenever your travels bring you back to Basel. Best regards, Your Courtyard-Team!
3 out of 5
by Kara from Mâlain

Clean and business-like, but HOT!

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
The Courtyard Basel is a modern, contemporary hotel for the business traveller. There is an Aqua centre right beside the hotel which is one-of-a-kind, although hotel guests have to pay for each entry. Hotel rooms in the Summer months are extremely hot! When we were there, it felt like a sauna, and you cannot adjust any air. However, there were plugs for every country's adaptors and everything was pristine clean!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2015
Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing our property and share your feedback with us. The day-use tickets for the "Aquabasilea" what we provide for our hotel guests includes a 50% Discount of the normal price what you pay for at the park directly. After 7pm to visit the park you get once again a discount. We provide only the day-use tickets. It's also possible to have tickets per 2 hours, but it's also more cheaper with our price cooperation what we can offer for you by the front desk. Our air condition works with a automatically system. The maximum difference is 4-6 degrees between outside and inside. We hope to you welcome again in our property whenever your travels brings you back to Basel. Best regards, Your Courtyard-Team!
5 out of 5
by Gabriela from geneva

short distance from Basel

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels
staff was extremely friendly. We did not use the spa but knowing it is there would definitely be prepared and try it next time. We went to see a concert and the venue was within walking distance which was great. No bus transport in the evening.
5 out of 5
by Rico from Zurich

Nice business hotel just outside basel

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
Nice and comfortable business hotel just outside Basel. Staff is friendly, and the only disappointment was the princely sum of 28 CHF demanded for 24h of internet access.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with nice adjacent wellness center

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
Nice rooms and convenient wellness center next door; great also with kids; considering its an American chain hotel-breakfast bacon sucks; not crispy but pale and sloppy; otherwise nice breakfast buffet