Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Lovely Room & Location, but a cold room!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Great wifi, huge rooms and a cute cafe across the street
Cons: The radiator heat at night left the rooms freezing most of the night.
Location: Zuccherino Cafe for breakfast Beckett's Craft Cocktail Bar (speakeasy, no sign outside) Van Hoa (great Pho) Shopping along Schönhauser Alle
This hostel location was three stops down from main plaza, but there are plenty of great places to eat and drink nearby. There is even a little cafe across the street to grab breakfast and coffee in the morning. The key pickup times were convenient, but it was a little disappointing to not have anywhere to store our bags before or after check-in/out. The whole building is only three rooms + the shared kitchen and bathroom area, so it was a quiet stay. Wifi and key deposit are not included in the paid price, so make sure to bring about $10 in euros in cover the costs. Our room was large with an excellent closet and warm bedding. The kitchen was stocked with all the basics for cooking and the 1 & 1/2 bath meant there was always a free bathroom. However, at night the radiator heat was rarely running and our room was way too cold for just one little blanket. We spent three nights here and one night we went to bed in half of our layers we had brought with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Average rating.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Overall it's ok, given the reasonable price. I think the property owner has a few units to let out. For the unit that I got, it's a 5 floor walk up with luggage...without any lifts. It would be better for the property owners to include this piece of information...especially when the elderly and pregnant women who may be potential guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Strategically well situated.
Cons: Bar was situated next to my window so a bit noisy , however, got quiet when bar closed around midnight.
Location: Train is near by, got on, went on a tour. Based on Karten's recommendations took train four stops and had a typical German meal.
Found everything just right. We are not talking the Ritz!! but perfect for value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Excellently situated in a nice part of Berlin. Good room, fine shared kitchen and bathroom.
4 out of 5
by Douglas from Denver

Good, basic accommodation in Prenzlauer Berg area

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Good, affordable location near Prenzlauer Berg. Conveniently located near transit. A bit short on baths and wifi a bit unreliable.
3 out of 5
by Victoria from ameri-dude but UK too

Too dark to read but why hang out in your room....

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
It was no-frills, inexpensive, not for every taste. But it is clean, there is a kitchen, and you are sharing a bathroom, but it's not a big place, so there is unlikely to be a crowd. The neighborhood and the convenience of travel are the draw. There is a three-minute limit on hot showers, which some will find annoying. I quickly got used to it. The biggest pain for me was ecological lighting in the bedroom, which in practice means.....too dark to read. Also €1 a day for wifi, slightly annoying but acceptable. But as I said, it was overall a bargain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

amazing value for money

Posted Apr 18, 2015
This is the second time I have stayed here. Clean, fresh and lovely rooms. The area has amazing restaurants and facilities including the s-Bahn direct to the airport. It's a shared bathroom and kitchen which is fine for the price your paying. Now with an extra toilet. I think there are 3 other bedrooms that share the bathroom but I never have an issue. I can't recomend it more!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good value for money

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pleased enough with our stay. Good value for money. Was a bit far north and next time would stay closer to centre.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 Floor Walk-Up!

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
Great location in a hip neighborhood, clean rooms, clean facilities. No reception, so you have to coordinate the time of your check-in so someone is there, and you need to arrive within 15 minutes of your designated time or else they will leave and reschedule a time with you, even though the listing says they do check-in between 2pm-8pm. There wasn't any warning that we would have a room on the 5th floor of a walk-up building. We got quite the workout going up and down the stairs, especially with all of our luggage. There isn't a sitting area outside of your bedroom like the photos suggest. The "hotel" is actually a few apartments that were purchased by a guy many years back. He rents out the rooms in the apartments as "hotel" rooms. So you arrive to check in at one location, then are walked a few blocks to whichever apartment is available in the area.