Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Ideal for exploring Berlin

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Really comfortable and clean, the lady on reception was so friendly and helpful, and the optional €6 breakfast was nice.
Cons: The only thing that caught us off guard was the request for payment in cash. I wasn't expecting that and had planned to pay on card.
Location: Plenty of excellent restaurants around and an easy 30min walk into the centre of Berlin. Lots of transport options though.
Just a short 3 day stay in Berlin for my family and I after attending a family wedding in Bad Schandau. Our first trip to Germany. Our overall experience was excellent. Everything went without a hitch. We felt safe and looked after. We found politeness and helpfulness everywhere we went, and this was a great introduction to a country we had never visited. Berlin is a busy, bustling city with so much to see, and a long and interesting history. Don't come expecting a tranquil, peaceful getaway, this is a vibrant, exciting place to visit. The Pension we stayed in was great, a nice quiet couple of rooms to relax in before the next adventure!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Keep looking for another hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
We went with this place based on reviews but we were disappointed. It looks more like a youth hostel than a hotel. There is no formal reception area, just a locked door. You have to ring the bell to reach a staff person. Other disappointments include: the building also has permanent residents and there is an enclosed courtyard. It's very loud in the courtyard and the lights are motion sensored and always shining through the window adjacent to the courtyard. There isn't always hot water in the small shower and while the ad says they have free wi-fi, it's only for an hour a day - if you can connect to it at all. Lastly, they don't tell you when you check in that they don't accepted credit cards for payment, just cash. The positives is the hotel is in a decent area and if you like walking, it's a nice stroll to Alexanderplatz. My suggestion is to find a hotel closer to Alexanderplatz or the Europa Centre. Berlin is a great city to walk around and both of those locations make sightseeing a little easier.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid. Maybe the worst hotel in the city.

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Maybe the worst service of any hotel I've ever stayed in. The receptionists (when there) were nice enough, however I had nothing but problems with this hotel. Upon arrival at 6:30pm they left the key for me because there is only a receptionist for limited hours; the entire hotel smelled like smoke and when I got to my room it smelled like someone had smoked for years in there. Since there was nobody in reception until the following day and I didn't have any way to call, I contacted hotels.com; hotels.com called for me and said that the person on the phone was rude and that they would stop by later to discuss the situation, but nobody ever stopped by. Since we had just arrived on a 16 hour flight I decided to sleep with the windows open and discuss the next day. When we got into bed half of the bed sheets were covered in hair so we ended up with two people squeezed onto one side of the bed. The following day the receptionist told me that they couldn't do anything about smokers even though it's a non-smoking room; she apologized and moved me to another room that smelled a bit better. However, the new room had a towel that appeared to have feces or blood on it, which I only saw after the fact. There's also only 1 hour of "free" wifi in this hotel. Lastly, upon checkout they tried to charge me a 5% fee for using a credit card. I was in a hurry and didn't have time to run to an ATM. After arguing they agreed to accept the card without a fee. Avoid this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the price is right

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: please refer to the above
Cons: please refer to the above
Location: The location is central at least to the main square where one can find other connecting metro. Pavok, a lovely area with a few great shops is close.
The place is clean and adequate and Ms. Jordan is very helpful. However, they shut down the reception at 6 PM and for someone from outside of German, it seems a bunker not being able to connect for any info especially regarding the city till the next morning. for someone who arrives at 6, even though they discourage it is very alienating. It would be great to have also an internet service even charging customers. Human touch is important for the rest of the world. This place doesn't have it...sorry to say. But yes I recommend it making my friends aware of what to expect. There was a dispute with the payment method as well. They need to let guests know in advance they don't take credit cards. The manager I suppose can do it but when I went to check in, the staff was not prepared what to do with me who insisted I pay with credit card. She wanted to call a police before I plead with her to call Mrs. Jordan. I found it a minor annoyance but others could be scarred forever and not good for word of mounth advertising...the best there is.
3 out of 5
by Sarah G from Washington, DC

Great neighborhood, bad beds

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels
Great neighborhood! Hotel was clean enough, but the beds were uncomfortable and reception was only open a few hours each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast, Northern Ireland

Great guesthouse, friendly staff

Posted Jun 30, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness and breakfast
Cons: n/a
Location: Lovely area of Prenzlauerberg, close to trams and restaurants and bars
Loved staying here. Very clean and breakfast lovely. A massive thank you Angela!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2012 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mainz

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Kleine und saubere Pension im typischen Berliner Wohnhaus. Top Lage mitten in Prenzelberg. Idealer Ausgangspunkt für Erkundungen.
4 out of 5
by Peder Grimstrup

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Steen Bech

God og billig overnatning på Prenzlauer Berg

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Perfekt beliggenhed i forhold til Prenzlauer Berg området og dets mange små butikker og spisesteder. Stedet er kun værelser til overnatning, hvilket dog ikke er noget problem med det udvalg af spisesteder der er i lokalområdet. Bemærk stedet tager ikke mod kreditkort betaling, kun kontant!!