Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ryan from Auckland

Decent rooms, excellent location

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels
It's a strange place, an exterior and banqueting/breakfast room lavishly decorated, with fairly spartan rooms. A lot of special events take place in the banqueting room and they can be noisy, but seem to end by 10 pm. The hotel's location balances out these disadvantages though, as the neighborhood is one of the most beautiful in Moscow, quiet but close to many places of interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from colorado

Boutique luxury in the heart of Moscow

Posted May 17, 2014
We were cautiously optimistic when booking this hotel considering the adverse comments regarding the wedding events that cause controversy at the hotel. We stayed for two nights in May and there were no wedding events being held. That being said we could not have had a more pleasant stay. The reception and staff - wonderful; the facilities - 18th century elegant and superb; the location - a 5 minute walk through an upscale area to the metro. The buffet breakfast made you feel like a Tzar; crystal, silver and wonderfully decorated. Say here - we were wonderfully pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel right in the center of Moscow

Posted Aug 26, 2013
I stayed there for two nights on my own and it was a pleasant experience. The weddings didn't' bother me at all as I was coming back to the hotel very late. The interior as well as exterior of the hotel are very impressive and grand for the 4 star hotel and staff are very friendly and helpful too. The only problem I had that they couldn't give me right wi-fi password so I couldn't connect but it was only due to inexperienced night administrator and I sorted it all out in the morning..... and the pillow was so uncomfortable but they kindly gave me better one for the next night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Location: The location is very convenient to tourist sites in Moscow (i.e., the Kremlin) but on a side-street and therefore quiet.
Irina was very helpful for a non-Russian speaker touring Moscow. And the breakfast was delicious too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2012 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Party facililty without English speakers

Posted Oct 17, 2012 on Hotels
This hotel is a banquet and reception facility first with hotel guests as an afterthought. The hotel staff including reception speak little or no English beyond demanding "passport". We had to struggle through a wet garden to the front door where a wedding reception was just breaking up; two nights after that it was the same story, with our room's floor lifting up and down with the band's music. I cannot recommend this hotel other than than it's in a great location.
5 out of 5
by Mark

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2012 on Hotels
This is a small (9 room) boutique hotel in a quiet side street five minutes walk from the Mayakovsky metro. Elegant, discreet, and comfortable, it is really geared towards the weekend wedding trade, which makes staying there during the week a pleasure. The standard room was comfortable, though the bed could have been raised a little, and the breakfast was good. While there is no bar, there are several nice ones within a 50-100m stroll; and there are no hidden extras (things like wifi are included); the one ting they need to acquire is a computer for guests who do not bring their laptops. This was our third visit to Moscow, and this is the hotel where we will stay in future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, tidy + center of Moscow

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels
I found the Chenonceau Hotel a couple of days before travelling and am glad I did. My room was one of the smaller ones I've been in, but nonetheless, it was clean, tidy and the hotel itself is certainly centrally-located. The breakfast was tasty and served dead on-time in my room. I noted only two issues with the hotel: first was that the receptionist refused to register my visa, although I was staying for two nights, causing pain, expense and much wasted time elsewhere. Secondly, since the hotel functions as a wedding venue, the beat from the dance floor can penetrate about the building, as well requiring the guests to make their way through and past various wedding parties; a back door wouldn't go amiss. Those two issues aside, the Chenonceau Hotel is pleasant and it's certainly ten thousand times better than the Gostinitsa Rossiya, the grim Soviet pile I stayed in last time I tried out a Moscow hotel. I have no hesitation in recommending the Chenonceau.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location 4min walk to subway station

Posted May 22, 2012 on Hotels
Small old hotel with traditions, seems to be in frequent use as a wedding venue. Breakfast ok with possibility to enjoy it outside. Double rooms ok sized, singles postages. Misses modern amenities like gym, restaurant, proper tv reception, wlan a bit flaky, but you can really do with out them.