Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester uk

Great hotel near to wedding venue

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Don't think there is anything that we could think of to improve.
Location: The hotel was within a taxi ride away from the wedding venue and not far off the m6
Great hotel near to the wedding venue that we were going to. Stayed two nights had a meal in the hotel the first night good food and service. Then we had breakfast two mornings. That was good food and service as well. The reception staff. Were very helpful and efficient and even booked us a taxi to get to the wedding. The room was really good, clean and everything that you could need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Easy access for a wedding at Salmesbury Hall

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Clean and modern decor.
Cons: Happier staff and cheaper drinks at the bar.
Location: Close to the M6 motorway and in easy access of many of Lancashire's lovely towns and villages.
Hotel staff were friendly enough but not too engaging. Room was clean and comfortable with a good shower despite the small bathroom. Drinks at the hotel a little on the expensive side, but then you come to expect that from hotels in the U.K. Breakfast was adequate. We chose this hotel because we were attending a wedding at Salmebury Hall, which is just a five minute taxi ride away.
4 out of 5
by Mr B J

2 night stay. Nice room, good location for me.

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel but service was not exceptional. Very friendly when serving at the table, but although I was told to avoid 7pm to 8pm due to a coach party, and so booked a table for 6:45, and was ready to be seated by 6:40, two restaurant staff walked past me before one returned to seat me after a couple of minutes. No one came to take my order and after 7:00 when another table had had their starter and it was begin removed I asked if someone would take my order. Then the friendly service started; but not until then. Rest of the stay was fine. One maintenance issue is that the shower is a walk-in shower but the shower head is an over-head one which means it splashes onto the floor outside the shower, so the floor towel becomes wet before you stand on it to dry off. Open-plan reception - not used to this yet and it seems 'strange'. I still prefer the desk-type reception at the moment, but this is not the only hotel I have been to that is going this way. Food very good. Very convenient for where I wanted to be. No table for watching TV so moved the desk chair between the bed and the desk and then could see the TV from the chair with a drink on the desk. Suited me but others may not wish to do this.
2 out of 5
by Eduardo

Lack of profesionalism

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
After a 7 hrs journey driving from London to Preston, it was "a lovely experience" to find out that there was not a room for me (I arrive at 3.00 am). I was told that I had to drive to another hotel so I could sleep there. To drive more after a seven hours journey simple was not an option...should I have taken the risk to have an accident putting on risk others and myself?..the person on duty said that the room had a flooding and that it was unavailable. I did ask why nobody rang me to give me any warning so I could have take action....no answer received.....then I did challenged the person and I said that they did not respect my reservation and that they gave it to other costumer......no answer received again......then I asked to see the room....the answer was that it was not possible due to health an safety regulations. At the end I was forced to drive all around Preston to find an available room, I did requested for the manager to ring me to discuss my experience, am still waiting to hearing from them since (05/04) Travelodge saved the night and explained that Best Western did not respected my booking because I have arrived really late so they did not want to lose business, so what is the point of booking in advanced and providing our bank card's details? Regardless to the standard procedures that hotels may have, how unprofessional and what a lack of respect. Imagine if I was travelling with my children or my ill parents in law..what a mess would could that be.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017
Dear Eduardo I am so sorry that after your long journey to Preston there was not a room available for you. Had you contacted us to let us know that you were going to arrive very late we would have ensured that a room was available. Pleased to read that you found suitable accommodation in the area. Please do contact me personally if you do wish to stay in the future and I will ensure that you have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Best wishes Hayley Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hôtel but food in restaurant poor.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Lovely hotel especially for the price but the standard of the restaurant food was very poor- quite pricey but overcooked and dry. Staff however were delightful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Hayley - Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel lovely and our staff delightful. I note your comments regarding the food served in the restaurant, I will share your review with our Head Chef and his team. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes
4 out of 5
by Deborah

Good hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Happy with the hotel
4 out of 5
by Jeff

Went the extra mile

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Travelling with a 95 year old for a family wedding the hotel provided ground floor rooms, close together and an early check in. Very friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by D E

No morals, customer service zero

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel over booked and moved us to another hotel. Not great customer service when instead of informing me in person, they asked a friend of my to pass on the message. They messed up a rare occasion where a long lost childhood friend came to visit from Miami. No apology received, disgusting.
5 out of 5
by Sue

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location, room size and decor.
Cons: The system for charging your room for facilities/items ordered, and speed of staff
Location: It is a countryside hotel with good access to road network
Stayed here to go to a wedding at the nearby Samlesbury Hall. It was easy to get to from the motorway in a quiet countryside location so it was easy yo get a peaceful sleep at night. The room was spacious, modern and clean (aside form the bogey on the ceiling and the wall beside the dressing table) The staff were pleasant but very slow and you need to be careful about charges to the room because most people in our party were charged for something they had not ordered ourselves included. But I think this can be ironed out because I was informed that this was a new system put in place recently so we can allow for teething problems. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend