Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Dirty and Shabby

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: It's location to where I was working
Cons: A make over of the rooms, and a thorough deep clean. Housekeeping staff should be responsible for ensuring the rooms are clean and functional.
This is the fifth time I have stayed at this hotel, and has been my first choice when working in Preston. Unfortunately, it has now deteriorated to a shabby and dirty condition. Upon arrival I was allocated room 131 and when I entered the room I immediately noticed that the walls either side, both above and below the shelf on which the tea making facilities were situated, were filthy and covered in tea/coffee stains. The carpet was also stained in places, the walls in general were dirty, the bedside lamp shades were broken, the light above the long mirror did not work, and the wallpaper was peeling off in numerous places. I reported the filthy walls to the guy on reception, and asked him to ensure that it was cleaned off by the housekeeping team the next morning when making up the room. When I arrived back on the second day of four I was amazed that the walls around the kettle and cups etc. had not been touched. I went straight down to reception to complain, and the very nice lad I spoke to assured me that he would come up and clean it himself, which he did. This dried on mess had obviously been there for some time, and been ignored by the maid along with the rest of the walls and carpet on a daily basis. For the relatively high cost for 4 nights, there are much cleaner and better quality hotels available in the area and so I will certainly not be using the Holiday Inn Express again unless it is re-furbished and cleaned to a much higher standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stopover

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Very friendly TV rubbish. Bed too small and had winter duvet in JULY. Staff excellent and breakfast good
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

Good hotel, no complaints

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Good value hotel - free breakfast, wifi and parking. Comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
Cons: The coffee at breakfast was not pleasant!
Really modern, spacious hotel. The staff were friendly and attentive and the cleanliness around the hotel was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not good value for our stay

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: close to where we needed to be
Cons: towels/pillows/mattress/ hello r smile from staff would be nice
As always when we stay in hotel I check the bed sheets/pillows/mattress I took off pillow case and found the pillow to be covered n what was a brown mess it was dry but should not have been used should have been thrown away went to reception showed the receptionist and got a replacement the towels were like cardboard lumpy pillows all 4 in the room we woke up with aching backs mattress needs replacing after a very long journey all we wanted was to shower eat and relax in a comfy bed that didn't happen breakfast not as much choice in this holiday inn express as the others we have stayed in have been staying in these hotels for years this is the 2nd one which was not up to standard not worth the money for us person clearing tables at breakfast was so miserable not nice to see no hello or smile when we checked in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunfermline

Good hotel close to motorway for overnight stop.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: As before
Location: Close to M6 but nothing else in the area.
We used this hotel for an overnight stop to break the journey from home to The south of England. Beds were really comfy, room spacious and food excellent.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

Great location for motorway

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, just off motorway network. Quick easy check in. Room good standard.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay again!

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
I love staying here when we visit Blackpool. It's just off the motorway and easy to find. There's free onsite car parking. I feel safe going from the car to the hotel with my children. We booked 1 twin and 1 triple rooms with adjoining doors and that's what we got which meant we could split boy from girls. Had a good night's sleep and a great shower. I love the Dove wash liquid which we get at Holiday Inn Express. It's what I use at home. I liked the choice of lighting in the rooms but my daughter was moaning about no true light for her make up. There's no restaurant or places to eat around here but we know that in advance so we eat before we leave Blackpool. The breakfast is adequate, there were 4 hot items and even though we were late in there was plenty there and it was warm. There were croissants, muffins, cereals, hot and cold drinks, toast and fruits and yoghurt. I'll come again when I'm up that way.
5 out of 5
by Iram

Fantastic,brilliant customer service and amenities

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Customer service was that of 5 star hotels! I've honestly never been more impressed with a hotel.