Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for quick overnight stay

Posted Nov 8, 2017
We needed a dog friendly hotel for one night while traveling back home and this place suited us just fine. Dogs were welcome (although there is a £10/night fee for each dog) and the room had plenty of space and nicely laid out. Nice clean room and bathroom, overall a pleasant place to stay if in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Close to M6

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Lovely comfy bed, tea / coffee in room, so quiet and peaceful , spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast. The containers that the cutlery is in, could do with a clean out, and some of the cups had bits on them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017
wrong room when got there only had us down as single
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Service

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Quick check in. Good service. Friendly and he staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

basic hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: cheap for overnight stay. parking onsite
Cons: cleanliness. Staff could have been friendlier
Hotel is pretty basic, but cheap for an overnight stay. Bedside shelf was dirty with sticky residue. Bed very soft. Stains on walls ?from spilled drink. Breakfast okay, but people filling drinks bottles from juice machine, which my husband reported, as this is very unhygienic, but the receptionist he reported it to, did not act on this or stop other people using machine after being informed of it. wouldn't stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
A two night stay visiting relatives. Very good rooms. Excellent buffet breakfast. Very close to junction 29 of M6
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Dirty and Shabby

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: It's location to where I was working
Cons: A make over of the rooms, and a thorough deep clean. Housekeeping staff should be responsible for ensuring the rooms are clean and functional.
This is the fifth time I have stayed at this hotel, and has been my first choice when working in Preston. Unfortunately, it has now deteriorated to a shabby and dirty condition. Upon arrival I was allocated room 131 and when I entered the room I immediately noticed that the walls either side, both above and below the shelf on which the tea making facilities were situated, were filthy and covered in tea/coffee stains. The carpet was also stained in places, the walls in general were dirty, the bedside lamp shades were broken, the light above the long mirror did not work, and the wallpaper was peeling off in numerous places. I reported the filthy walls to the guy on reception, and asked him to ensure that it was cleaned off by the housekeeping team the next morning when making up the room. When I arrived back on the second day of four I was amazed that the walls around the kettle and cups etc. had not been touched. I went straight down to reception to complain, and the very nice lad I spoke to assured me that he would come up and clean it himself, which he did. This dried on mess had obviously been there for some time, and been ignored by the maid along with the rest of the walls and carpet on a daily basis. For the relatively high cost for 4 nights, there are much cleaner and better quality hotels available in the area and so I will certainly not be using the Holiday Inn Express again unless it is re-furbished and cleaned to a much higher standard.
5 out of 5
by Don

Good transit stop

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Good stop in transit to London, great service, clean and comfortable
4 out of 5
by Steve

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service from the staff both in the evening and next morning
4 out of 5
by John

Trampoline beds

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Beds not great but apart from that very good