Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good breakfast

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Great breakfast choices - good price. In Preston, there are not many breakfast places (city wakes up at 9). Eat at the hotel - best choice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Small but very nice

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: It is a name we trust from our travels. It was clean, and the staff was pleasant.
Cons: The room size was very small, as was the bed. It is normal for the area, but we are used to at least a queen sized bed.
We had a cozy little room with a double bed.(not queen, not king) #602 Our room was very clean and fresh. The bathtub was a little awkward as it sat high,and you needed to step up into it. The room was about the size of a cruise ship stateroom, not a lot of extra space. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Staff was really friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bury St. Edmunds

Nice business hotel.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Good basic hotel for one night.
Cons: Room was a bit warm.
Location: Only needed to find the railway station.
Reception staff very helpful in helping me find my way round Preston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
My partner & I stayed one night in this hotel. Everything was to our satisfaction. We would definitely use again if we were in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel but Ebookers mislead me in booking

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: helpful and very clean
Cons: The bar was noisy and it was hard to relax
EBookers advertised a room which the hotel did not have. The hotel were great and gave us an extra room, well done Holiday Inn.
4 out of 5
by William

The Holiday Inn

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
My experience was good apart from one thing, I requested a double bed for my room, but got 2 singles instead, I wasn't contacted about this to be told. The girl who served me in the restaurant, didn't know whether the hotel would be busy or not at night, so couldn t advise me whether to pre-book a table or not, I didn't and arrived at 9.15pm and the restaurant was empty, the receptionist didnt seem to bothered that I was getting 2 single beds for my room and made no effort to try to solve the problem. I accepted what was being offered but not the happiest person with it. My room and bed were comfortable, amenities weren't short, but a snack machine could have been helpful, would I stay again, yes, but I would be checking my accommodation first before booking and paying.
4 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by john

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Stewart

OK but starting to show its age.

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
We have used this hotel as a base from home while visiting family & friends in the Preston area. Usually stays are 2-3 nights - this time 4 nights. I'm afraid that while the basics are OK, the whole establishment is now starting to show its age. The rooms are fine if not "bright" in the decor department, and the staff are helpful, generous and friendly, but things are just starting to look a bit jaded. The car parking is also (still) inadequate and little attempt is made by staff to encourage guests to park sensibly. The previous arrangements of using the Preston Bus Station car park (just next door) have been replaced by overnight (until 07:00!) use of a close-by office car park facility. The breakfasts are very good but with 2 main complaints: the porridge looks like lumpy wallpaper paste; and wastage is huge, as we observed everymorning - whole trays of food still being delivered to the servery while the restaurant is virtually empty after the main morning rush. Our room was also very warm, with a/c that was set so it would not go below 18C.