Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Friendly staff

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Great place. Very quaint, country setting close to town. Comfortable room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend away

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely brilliant place. Food amazing, staff amazing especially the Italian waiter, he is fantastic. Had many laughs and cannot wait to return. Brilliant value for money and close to many attractions. Already recommended to friends and family. Planning a long weekend with all the family early next year.
4 out of 5
by David

Definitely coming back

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed one night whilst on business, the area is very safe, my room was clean and had a shower to die for, my evening meal was very good and there was plenty to select from. The breakfast was outstanding
4 out of 5
by kerry

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Overall great b & b! Room was clean and well presented although a little dull. Welcome ok. Not shown to our room but easily located with directions from staff. Comfortable bed, we slept very well and breakfast was great the morning after! Thankyou to staff at the Birley Arms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Clean with comfortable beds. Bit disappointed with the cooked food and service at lunch was very very slow, although they were busy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from blackpool

one night stay

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: they made us welcome
Cons: nothing
Location: n/a
we had our golden wedding celebration with our family and friends in the conservatory. the staff and the food were excellent. we stayed the night and the room was comfortable and warm breakfast was also good.you thank
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Weekend Stay

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable rooms. Friendly staff.
Cons: Consider the menu, maybe not so fancy ??? New management settle in.
Location: Great location, close to Lytham. Blackpool, Blackpool Zoo.
This was our third stay at the Birley Arms Hotel. On the positive side, the hotel is clean, the room was very comfortable and the staff friendly. Unfortunately, there were some negatives on this visit:- The hotel is under new management and it is evident that they are making some changes, one of which is the menu, I must say that the food was beautifully cooked, however, the selection was all a bit too fancy and my daughter struggled to find something she would eat. Whilst fully understanding that not all the rooms can have a pleasant view over fields, our ground floor view was of the back of the hotel and a large skip piled high with boxes, pots and pans etc. more evidence of the new management having a clear out, maybe some thought should be given to this?? On checking out, there was total confusion over the bill, eventually left, having paid the difference between the bill and what we had already paid via Expedia, only to receive a call when we were a couple of miles away, saying that it was incorrect and requesting that we returned to the hotel. It was sorted out in the end but not ideal. It is a probability that I will return to the hotel and I'm hoping that these are just teething problems and the new management settle in OK.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Suitable to the stay purpose.

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
Nice stay, new management so a few admin errors but overall a nice stay. Breakfast could be slightly improved by having a menu and printed options, but cannot fault what I had. Evening meal nice but charged full price for a vegetarian alternative from seafood.
4 out of 5
by gary

romantic stay at the Birley Arms

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
the hotel executive suite was very comfortable and spacious,clean and welcoming with a large screen tv and two confortable settees.the rolltop bath looked great,but on further inspection it was a plastic version,the walkin shower was also welcoming with a large raindrop type large showerhead,however the water pressure was not strong enough to get the full effect. as for the pub restaraunt dont be fooled by the menus on the website,they dont exist.breakfast was sufficient,even though there was a queue for the self service 4 slice diy toaster...could possibly do with a rethink there.however having said all that we would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Birthday party

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Ebookers
Very nice place, had buffet in the afternoon. Just on the outskirts of Wrea Green. Breakfast was plentiful, although bit early for us, served until 9am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by The Birley Team, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comments we may review the breakfast time