Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide Australia

What a delightful find!

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Our hosts were charming, informative and caring .....felt like staying at a friends home. The house and grounds were a delightful step back in time but with all modern conveniences.
Cons: Have stayed in many B&Bs, guest houses but found this one outstanding.
Location: Location was perfect for our needs...near embassies, shops & historical Pretoria. View from the verandah over the city in the evening was beautiful.
4 out of 5
by Andre from KZN

Perfect!

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
It was all there: great bed, quiet, private, nice central area, great breakfast and very friendly service. Will go again.
4 out of 5
by Barbara from Toronto

Relax on the deep porch!

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
Had tours arranged but close to Rovos Rail office and close to Union Buildings.
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Hatem Hussein, Cairo, Egypt.

Just marvellous

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
What a marvelous place to stay in near Pretoria’s CBD and just 200 meters away from the Union Buildings’ gardens. The room was very clean and tidy and full of all the required facilities to suit both business and leisure travellers. I really enjoyed my stay for twelve nights in this peaceful and quiet place and I wish it was one complete year instead!! On top of that, the hosts were also very kind, friendly and helpful (thanks Piet and Elize very much). Definitely, would stay again there again if I’m visiting Pretoria in the future.
5 out of 5
by Wei from Shanghai, China

Lovely place

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Great location in Pretoria and lovely garden
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA USA

Beautiful oasis

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Owner is engaging and takes great pride in his inn.
Well-maintained gardens and rooms. Plenty flowers and birds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bilpin, Australia

Beautiful historic residence well situated for tou

Posted Jul 9, 2014
We had a very enjoyable stay in Pretoria at the Melvin GH. Pete and the staff at Melvin Residence were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious and the house is a treat. Pete made suggestions for day trips which gave us some sight seeing which we may have otherwise missed. We'ed definitely stay again and recommend it to our friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A gem close to the centre

Posted Mar 4, 2013 on Hotels
It was at the end of a 5.5weeks break travelling from Cape Town to Jo'Burg so it was nice to have a bit of comfort. The welcome was exceptional, our hosts explained to us everything that we needed and gave a great deal of local advice, including printing off route maps. Our host is an IT enthusiast so our wifi connections were assured......He also knows a lot about cars and engines!
2 out of 5
by Kobus

Dont be late for breakfast

Posted Nov 19, 2012 on Hotels
Excellent rooms, but awful guest relationships. I was 7 min late for breakfast, and refused.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Enjoyed the B&B Over a Hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2012 on Hotels
I was traveling on business and chose this B&B because of location. I also like the atmosphere of a B&B over a hotel. The owner and staff were very nice and welcoming. The room was very comfortable, large and relaxing. It had a nice outside porch with great landscaping, local birds. Breakfast was great and home cooked. The location was good also, down a side street away from the main street areas, but within walking distance to town, restaurants (I recommend Cafe 41) and sites. Whether on business or just some relaxing time away, I would recommend this B&B.