Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2016
But the TV did not work... only the radio from the TV set. That could not be changed either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Amy L, Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I apologise that the television did not work properly during your stay. We have amended the issue and I do hope you'll try us again the next time you're in Charlottetown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottetown

Centrally located in Charlottetown

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Closeness to everything. Very clean and quiet.
Very welcoming staff . The Inn is located close to everything downtown. A short walk to all types of restaurants and entertainment. Attention to detail throughout the facility. Will definitely be going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Amy L, Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. Your compliments regarding our attention to detail are truly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

A very nice, quiet hotel in Charlottetown

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Lots of places to eat within a couple of blocks. PEI National Park is about 25 km away.
The hotel is a collection of about 20 adjacent buildings which historically were homes, stores, and a pub. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay at The Great George!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The Inn was beautiful and had a wonderful location. You can walk to all the great restaurants. Free wine and beer while enjoying the beautiful common area was an unexpected bonus!
Cons: The only thing I could see for an improvement is a better setup for eating breakfast. Not so great eating on your lap because you are sitting on chairs and couches.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan

Water leak over night from bathroom ceiling

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Due to this incident, I noticed that there are not enough staffs on work over night. When water leak suddenly started in bathroom through ventilation fan cover, I called Front Desk, a gentleman came by to see the status. He went upstairs and probably asked guests up there to see, came back down and informed us that their bathroom is completely dry and they have had a tub filled about 5 minutes ago but that was about it. It looked like the consecutive leak stopped after desk staff spoke to guests above. The staff has no idea why and he didn't have any maintenance person to take a look at. He came back with bunch of towels, he cleaned fully wet floor up and left extra towels in case the leak keeps going. The desk staff offered us to change room but my partner was already in bed and sleep, it was no way to wake her up and pack our stuff for a move in the middle of the night. Gladly, no more leak came back, but had a few dripping time to time till morning. We were checking out next morning, I expected Front Office Manager or Hotel Manager for courtesy apology for what happened but no one seems to care or mentioned, I had to bring it up myself but no apology given whatsoever. I was extremely disappointed for this matter, as the hotel itself is respectably beautiful and with awesome history, we were delighted to stay there however over this matter, it is just sad to experience it for our first stay in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island which my partner had dreamed of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Classy Boutique hotel in central Charlottetown

Posted Oct 17, 2016
This is a beautiful period building refurbished to a very high standard. It's actually divided into several buildings so that you have a variety of houses rather than a sprawling featureless building. Staff are polite efficient and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, feature laden and quiet. Breakfast is a buffet in the sitting room with a good selection. We were fortunate to be upgraded to our own house with every appliance on hand imaginable. It was a wonderful stay and the location is perfect- five minutes from the boardwalk promenade and less than two from the local restaurant. Oh and the free cookies are fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
The staff were wonderful and very helpful. Room was lovely. Nice location for downtown walking and eating. Charming and homey. Best hotel so far this trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Close to a lot of nice restaurants. Free lemon water, free delicious cookies. Very comfortable room with laundry and refrigerator like condo. I recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Stay in Old Charlottetown

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, continental breakfast, location to downtown, great restaurants nearby and the complimentary upgrade.
Cons: Windows are very thin...sound outside easily heard, Fellow guests above our room easily heard. Door seal poor allowing lots of light to come in.
Location: Close to old city walk about guided tours, close to wharf with lots of cruise ships in...great eateries nearby...shopping?????
Our room turned out to be upgraded to a small apartment setting complete with kitchenette, living room and had laundry facilities. There was a small 3 piece bathroom off of the bedroom . The bed was comfortable but would have loved a king sized bed rather than a queen size. We could control the heat settings which we rarely needed. A very generous continental breakfast was served daily in the hotel's main lobby which was large and spacious with little areas to eat as a couple in a living room setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida/Maine

Friendly hotel,great location

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Unique hotel in the middle of the old town, near everything, each day at 5-7 beer and wine get together is great way to meet some very interesting guest...will be back