Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceeded Expectations

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels
The staff were extremely friendly and responsive. They went out of their way to be helpful. The food in the dining room was very good. Accommodations were great. Really great value for a very reasonable price. I was only there for one evening and not part of a conference - but it clearly would be a great place to hold an off-site meeting or training session.
3 out of 5
by 5 night stay

All good except the food

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels
The staff were all very pleasant and the location for us was perfect. Without options for food near by we stayed in and eat. While everything was cooked and not that expensive, we still felt it was not good value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Redding Ridge, CT

Convenient location

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: Spacious and clean
We had 2 rooms, one of which had a faulty thermostat, which was quickly serviced. The rooms and bathrooms are large and clean. Our loft ceilings accentuated the spaciousness even more. Unfortunately we didn't have time for a breakfast which was a sit-down quality and had diverse offerings. There was a neat feature on the TV, where one can check out directly from the room, but little did we know that when we checked out, it shut down our tv!.and so, this actually hastened our departure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn

Excellent buffet breakfast included.

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: Location and surrounding campus.
Cons: Bathrooms (DBBL) could use a fan.
Location: Terhune Orchards for apples and apple cider nearby. Princeton University and Rider University nearby. On the ETS campus.
The breakfast is a great deal especially if you have a big appetite. Scrambled eggs, meats, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, and either grits, oatmeal or cream of wheat too. Free Wifi, fresh fruit for the taking near the check-in desk. Beautiful surroundings with bike and walking trails nearby. Perfect location for Princeton and Lawrenceville activities. Not cheap but neither is central New Jersey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lemmy from Parlin, NJ

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Price included breakfast.
Cons: Breakfast was OK. It could be better. The upper windows let in too much light and cannot be reached.
Location: This hotel isn't exactly in the heart of Princeton, so you'll need a car to get into Princeton proper.
The room I stayed in had cathedral ceilings, a balcony, and 40 inch TV. Everything was clean and tidy and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only negative thing I need to mention is that there are windows high up that let in light. These windows have blinds, but with the other windows, I think they let in too much light in the morning which might make it hard to sleep in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Ma from U.S.

Denied...

Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels
We had a nightmare experience with the staff at a time of grief with a family funeral. We were told our credit card held for extra amenities had been denied. (I called credit company and they denied anything had been denied.) The staff also messed up our reservations for two other rooms with adult sons--checked out both when one was remaining another night--and denied him entrance to the empty room to retrieve his things (told to wait until the next day). Our room smelled of mold and a spider crawled out of pillow. Never again would I stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to my office

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Very nice staff and amenities. Much better than Princeton Westin or Hyatt which are four star dumps.
2 out of 5
by Ma from U.S.

Denied...

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels
We had several family members booked in three different rooms during a week of grief after my husband's father died (from the Princeton area). Our room smelled of mildew and a spider crawled out of my pillow when I moved it. The worst was the front desk service: we had glitches with them twice. The first one was an employee saying our credit card for incidentals had been denied (I called company and they denied anything had been denied). Then our adult son got locked out of his room the second night (was told he had checked out even though he had not--two rooms were evidently mixed up and it was somehow our fault). Worse yet, though, was that even though the original room was empty, he was put in another--and was denied entry to retrieve his things (told to wait until morning) until ugly ma (me) went down to the desk. Two rooms were booked on opposite sides of the building, even though we had requested all three rooms close to each other. What a nightmare during a time of grief!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia MO

relaxing location; resort-like environment

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed at the Chauncey while visiting our son at Princeton University. The hotel was spotless, the staff was very welcoming, and the location was an oasis. Unlike most other options in Princeton, it is not on Route 1, so it is quiet. However, you definitely need a car to get around.