Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2012 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Detroiter from Michigan

Not ready for prime time.

Posted Jun 19, 2012
Pros: beautiful grounds
Cons: did not live up to rating on Expedia!
Location: outskirts of Princeton; probably hard to find for folks, especially at night and if not used to the area.
The airconditioning was loud and not effective in removing humidity; although the materials in the room discussed the menu of the restaurant it was not open for dinner when we wanted to bring guests. Maybe it said that in the written materials but we did not notice? The first day the room was not cleaned well, not vacuumed we think, no additional washcloths, etc. The television was missing a number of channels, but we weren't there to watch anything and initially we thought it was just limited service; should have said something. The phones were a bit odd too. The design of the roll in shower was strange in that the bench was too far away from the hand held shower, so it did not reach. Interesting place, however, absolutely beautiful grounds, quiet....apparently they are renovating, but definitely not a four star hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by SAS from Providence, RI

A diamond in the rough

Posted May 22, 2012
Pros: The location, staff, and accommodations
Cons: The lobby had a distinct smell. Reminiscent of an old book.
Location: This location is very quiet and near Princeton University.
What a fantastic property! Located in quaint Princeton, the Chauncey was a delightful experience. Not only was the staff accommodating, but the rooms were charming and cozy. I definitely recommend the Chauncey if you're ever in Princeton.
4 out of 5
by Nancy from Pa

Norse

Posted May 22, 2012
Pros: Clean and quiet
Cons: Smells like dust.
We stayed one night for the conference at Princeton University.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted May 8, 2012 on Hotels
We were in Hopewell for a wedding and were impressed with this hotel with it spacious, beautiful, rural setting with all the amenities you could ask for. The beds were very comfortable The breakfast was included and it was delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great find near Princeton

Posted Apr 18, 2012
Pros: BED
Cons: Bathroom
Location: a bit out of town but lovely park-like setting - very serene and quiet
Extremely comfortable bed only negative is tiny bathroom. Hotel is great value and a lovely setting. Great and plentiful breakfast buffet. Bathroom products environmentally conscious without losing quality.
4 out of 5
by Mary from Island

Hotel for nature lovers

Posted Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Wonderful staff and beautiful surroundings
Cons: The rooms are not in the most modern condition but still good.
The hotel is located away from the noisy streets, surrounded by fields, garden and park. We took walks in the woods alongside of a creek and enjoyed the peaceful scenery. The staff was very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable. I am looking forward to stay again at the Chauncey Hotel & Conference Center.
4 out of 5
by Robert from new jersey

good hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2012
very hospitable staff condition of the hotel is ok could use some renovations, carpet in the rooms need replacement bathroom condition is good the dinning area and the lobby is in good condition
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great value and outdoor amenities . . .

Posted Mar 31, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Chauncey Hotel. The idyllic surroundings and the hiking trails were inviting and beautiful. The full breakfast was a great way to start the day!